The Sandbox Writing Challenge 9 – Impressive

10/6/15

Over in Sandbox City, otherwise known as Impromptu Promptlings the Lady Calen has brought us to the land of ‘you put your left foot out, you put your left foot in, you foot out and you shake it all about…’ that imfamous hokey pokey dance which I think of as putting my best foot forward; putting myself out there; impressing myself… I mean someone, for reasons unknown. BUT, we’re actually supposed to imagine we want to impress her. I can’t imagine why… Still, I did, and it goes like this:

PROMPT: Imagine wanting to impress this woman. What would you say about yourself?

When I first read the prompt, and looked at the picture, I felt I wanted more information. Who is she? What does she have or represent that I may need her? Needing, often causes one to want to impress, if only to get what is needed or wanted. I puzzled over this for a bit. I honestly felt there wasn’t any reason why I’d want to impress her. I felt that if I wasn’t accepted on the basis of who I am in my life, and had to come up with how to impress her, there’s something rotten in Denmark. I’m sure she’s an absolutely lovely woman.

Were we to meet for some reason, I’d just be who I am. That should be good enough. If she did not care for who I am, then it pretty much is a moot question.

And I mused over the question again, and finally settled on the fact that, I was being asked to imagine wanting to impress her. Which brought me back to a weekend I spent at the Lee Strasberg Theater and Film Institue, where they were offering an opportunity for folks who wanted to try their hand at acting to come and spend three days at the school.

Right away, we had to each get up on stage and were asked to demonstrate our passion for something. I was flummuxed, but managed to eventually get past my thick headedness to ‘act’ as if I was my favorite hockey player. I mean, that was what I came up with. I was in one of the odd phases of life where I actually liked a sport, hockey to be exact. Thus, I had to use my powers of imagination.

So I thought, why might I want to impress this woman. OR, more to the point, make this person someone I want to impress. What would I do?
I’ve never had a problem talking. Perhaps the problem is that I talk too much. So I might try to not overwhelm her with all manner of things I believe I know stuff about. I’d be polite, because I am. I can be down right normal when I want to be, or have to be.

But that is not actually telling YOU, my dear reader, what I would say to impress her. Q, sitting here, just told me I could spend two hours in conversation with the checkout girl at a grocery store, talking about nothing in particular. So, I’d just be myself. I don’t stand on ceremony.

BONUS QUESTIONS:
1. How do you think different expressions on the picture would have affected your answer, or do you?

That is an interesting question. It occurred to me that if it was someone like, say, Pema Chodron, I’d feel very different. The picture looked almost corporate. In a scene from “Defending Your Life,” the character, Daniel, is asked why he answered his wife (who was playing along with his practicing how to be assertive about how much money he wants in a new job he’s taking in a ‘not backing down way’), but was unable to follow through in the real life situation, and accepted what was offered without so much as an attempt at bartering? There lies the rub. Daniel said it was the ‘Suit’ he was faced with. Perhaps, if I was faced with the kind of a person I respect, or someone I might look up to, I’d feel a whole different way. But in truth, can we really know how we’re going to act until we’re faced with the situation? I don’t think I do.

2. What if it had been a group of younger women or a man or group of men? Really am trying to make a point here!

A younger group of women would not have an affect on me, in a different way than what I said above about the first woman. Would a man? Possibly, but that depends on the situation. I can say that I’m likely (have been known to) respond differently, in the comments section, for instance, yet it may not be because of gender, but because the specific things I’ve read have an affect on me that inspires a different kind of reaction to what I’ve read. I can think of two men here in WP which do bring out very specific reactions. And there are women who also bring out very specific reactions. So, again, I’m left with, I would not know unless I was literally in that situation.

Here’s something though. I’ve met people at various times in my life who I feel do not either like me, or perhaps, I’m so insignificant to them, that they don’t have the time of day for me. While I may not actually call it wanting to impress, I don’t like not being liked. Is that the same thing? Maybe it is all about the mush in between.

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 19:22:57

    Most EXCELLENT post! And a week ago you said you couldn’t do it! See! You’re freakin’ amazing! {{{Fim}}}

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 08, 2015 @ 01:13:35

      It’s odd, because when we talked about it, I couldn’t think of how I’d answer it. But I had time to mull it over. Maybe it’s having to answer anything ‘on the spot.’ Case in point: I went to the doctor for a Wellness Exam. So she asked me questions, to see if I was functioning well enough. I got tripped up on things… simple things, that were I here answering those same questions, I’d be able to, in my own time. I couldn’t think what day it was. Then she asked me some questions that had numbers in them… like, I have a hundred dollars and I buy thus and such and something else, and how much money had I spent… totally had not clue. Can’t do math to save my life, actually, but on the spot is even worse. I swear, I could feel my brain shut off. And then, she asked me to name as many animals as I could in a minute, and I was stymied… but did manage to get a few done. So, yes, last week, when we were talking about it, thinking if I could or couldn’t do something, and I go blank.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. platosgroove
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 20:03:21

    The mush in between can be most important

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 9 — What would you say about yourself? | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. JoHanna Massey
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 16:29:06

    When I got old, I wrestled about for several years because I had seemingly gotten invisible along with the aging. Most of my life was spent in jobs that were in the service, education, and travelers’ professions, and people had always been responsive to me, even when they disagreed. But being old meant I could be sitting in a restaurant with a group of ‘friends’ and totally ignored, or in the midst of a story…and bear in mind I have been paid handsomely in my life for telling stories….someone would just begin talking over me and everyone would turn and all become enraptured listen to their yakking about their gall bladder issues.

    Finally, I decided to turn my newfound old lady invisibility to a strength, and I just listen. I embrace the fact no one ever notices I am there in real time.

    What periodically gnaws at me is that I walked this planet for years thinking people listened to me because I had something valid to say. When in fact it was all about being young and probably attractive. JEEEZ!

    Except for my website. I am really finding my voice again my website!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 09, 2015 @ 00:07:03

      The Invisible Years, would be a great book about our elder years. But it doesn’t matter the way it once did. Like you said, it’s all about being young and attractive. The years when I was of an age where I felt compelled to want to be noticed, were difficult times. It was lonely. Now I appreciate my own company. And you’re right about how the internet has afforded us a voice that lets people see beyond the physical.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

  5. Lori Carlson
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 20:57:05

    I completely agree with you. Why bother to impress anyone? Just be yourself and if that isn’t good enough for some people, then to hell with them. They aren’t worth it. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 09, 2015 @ 19:34:45

      Thank you Lori! Once was, I would not have known how freeing being this age would become. Though I remember glimpsing it once as a nurse’s aid in a nursing home, in a very impressive woman who’d been given the cross of a stroke to bear, which did not stop her from being who she was. It stayed with me all these years. That was one of the best examples of being who you are no matter what.

      Like

      Reply

  6. kim
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 09:53:58

    Interesting post and comments. I have also been feeling as though I am entering a kind of invisible age of life. Sometimes it stings a bit, other times I’m not bothered. I am less of a people-pleaser these days, though I think it’s true we are not so much trying to impress, as wanting to be liked. Or at the very least not accidentally cause offence.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 09, 2015 @ 19:40:23

      Thank you, Kim. It is an interesting time of life. I honestly would not have expected it to be the way it is. Then again, I don’t think I’d have expected me to be the way I am. lol

      That is a very good way to put it, “at the very least not accidentally cause offence.” I feel I’ve been that way, most of the time. Learning how to do it without losing face in my own eyes is the challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  7. badfish
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 02:47:40

    I could never have written a response to questions like these. I’m inhibited. Shy. And a little bit of a nitwit. I like how you handled it. Your honesty and charm and wit. And who actually likes not being liked? I’ve had the problem most of my life that people don’t listen to me. A psychic once told me that people would not listen to me until I got older. That was decades ago. People are still not listening to me. Just how old do you have to get?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 11, 2015 @ 00:34:16

      Thank you. Though I do believe you could have written answers to the questions, even if it was not necessarily posted.

      I also have to disagree that people are not listening to you now. I don’t know about when you were younger, and it’s true, we have to grow into ourselves, and just put it out there. But I’ve read you, and you know how I feel about how and what you write. I’m listening. There are a slew of others reading and listening to you as well.

      Like

      Reply

  8. Faraday's Candle
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 13:22:32

    The older the more invisible some people feel ,but that is not true….it is very subjective. There is a film on netflix that deal with fashion and the elder which is outstanding. Advance style and there is a blog with the same name…
    People would see the elder differently after.

    A little of subject but it came to mind.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 12, 2015 @ 17:11:36

      I’ll have to check out that movie… “Advanced Style” is the name?
      It’s funny, I think I’m dressing more like I did in the 80s than an elder woman, these days. In fact, which I think is so incredibly amazing, I’d worn a pair of pants during that decade that I’d loved and was so comfortable, that when I began gaining that elder weight, I kept anyway, thinking, one day, maybe, who knows… well, that one day, maybe, actually came about last year, after reaching my goal weight loss. AND, I tried them on, and OMGosh, they fit! I was stunned. But that’s one pair of pants I wouldn’t have to buy, since they fit again. Wonder of wonders 🙂

      Is the Advance Style blog on wordpress?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  9. trablogger
    Oct 13, 2015 @ 02:00:17

    Do you really want to impress someone who likes you? Have you not already made the impression if he/she likes you already?
    And why Do you really want to impress someone who dislikes you?
    But anyway we all want to be liked even by strangers. No one likes being disliked.
    Btw am i confusing you?! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

