The Sandbox Writing Challenge – What’s The Story?

Tuesday Afternoon (from the song of the same name), is here, and I’m looking at the next post which Lady Calen of Impromptu Promptlings has given us here in the Sandbox, for Writing Challenge #10 – What are they hearing about you?

There’s a host of pictures she’s posted (click the link up there and check it out) which speak of the possibility that we are the topic of the moment that everybody is talking about on the phone.

Isn’t it just like me to have to go and find a different picture? It reminds me of those questionaires which don’t actually give that one answer which suits me.

A vintage black rotary phone.

As the picture shows, there is no phone conversation.

There are two (count them, one, two) people I talk with … okay three, because I do speak with my aunt, but she’s 95 and wouldn’t be telling anyone about me, since we don’t run in the same circles.

Back to the fact that there are two people I talk with on the phone on any kind of regular basis. One is a ‘new’ friend with whom I’ve just started having, what we like to call ‘starbuck’s phone chats.’

THIRTY MINUTES LATER:

In a very timely coincidence, I looked at the clock a half hour ago and if it’s Tuesday, it’s Judy night, my other phone pal. So, there you have it, and I’m sure there is not one thing anyone would have to say about me. Hence, what are they hearing about me is pretty much not a thing. By the way, that is perfectly okay with me.

I’m trying to recall if I was a phone person when I was young. Who wasn’t? But it was different then. Or maybe not. I’m just not really on anyone’s radar so nobody would have anything to hear about me.

Now, fast forward to when I was out of high school, and that’s a whole other story. But it’s also old news, forty years of old news. Who cares about something that might have happened in some other place, if even the right place?

Of course, I could make something up. Write a whole weird story about leading a double, or triple life maybe. I could do a whole Sybil story, where one of my identities tells two friends, about another of my identies, and they tell two friends, and you get the story.

That, of course, brings to mind the “Bye Bye Birdie” movie, where they sing a song over the phone lines, that maybe starts out like, “What’s the story, morning glory? What’s the word, humming bird? Have you heard about Hugo and Kim?”

Mabye some other day. For today, nobody is hearing anything about me.

I’m not even hearing those voices anymore, so nobody is telling tales out of school.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Oct 13, 2015 @ 23:27:12

    What an interesting response. You’re such a balanced person! You gotta teach me how to be that confident! {{{Fim}}}

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 14, 2015 @ 13:43:37

      It’s interesting because I don’t feel at all balanced. I’m curious what in the post makes it seem like I’m balanced or confident, even. Food for thought, definitely. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • badfish
        Oct 15, 2015 @ 00:32:28

        Sorry to bust in here like this…but…yeah, I have to agree with Fim…jwtf in this essay makes her look balanced. The girl is obviously unhinged. And just where does she get off by adding a photo of a phone, a phone that can’t even be used any more. And whatever happened to nickel pay phones. No wait…am I going off on tangents again? And what about lies: the girl KNOWS we are always talking about her, behind her cyber back. Her ears have to be burning most of the time.
        Can we talk: I’m a little concerned…anyone with a mind that works like hers…well, let’s keep our eye on her. And let’s talk about her again next week.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Oct 15, 2015 @ 01:23:50

          Now, were you on a phone saying that, it might have counted as “what ya’ll are hearing about me,” because, you can’t hear typed words. Did you not read the question? Don’t make me come over there. (quote from a movie)… *evil grin*

          Oh and nickel phones, went the way of 10 cent stamps, and such much and 15 cent subway tokens.

          In the winter, my ears are cold, most of the time. Burning would actually help the situation. So talk louder.

          Oh, and how does my mind work? Inquiring me would like to know.

          If you find that hinge, I’d like it back. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

          • badfish
            Oct 15, 2015 @ 01:32:39

            “You talkin’ to me?” *slightly moves arm to release revolver into hand*

            The movie version goes something like this: “I can hear dead people.” My version goes like this: “I can hear typed words.”
            How does your mind work? Lord knows, gal. But it comes up with some heavy stuff. H-E-A-V-Y. And usually a little spooky if you ask me. But you never told me about the red-head psychic? What about that?

            Old souls have no hinges on their minds, they are open and wild and free to say what the damn well please.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

  2. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 10 — What are they hearing about you? | Impromptu Promptlings
  3. Faraday's Candle
    Oct 14, 2015 @ 09:37:31

    Writing keeps getting easier for you! we have to see this Sybil movie. There are always references to it. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 14, 2015 @ 13:47:39

      Thank you for your kind words! 🙂

      I was reading something yesterday, and the blogger said something about ‘not getting in his own way,’ which might how it looks easy when I write. I try not to get in my own way when writing. I have a sign on my writing room door: ‘Leave your ego at the door.’

      The movie was very disturbing, primarily because it was based on fact. But Sally Field, who I’ve found is such a fine actress, brings the characters so alive.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Jay
    Oct 14, 2015 @ 17:45:09

    I used to chat on the phone as a teenager but now I loathe it and can’t remember the last time I phone someone outside of work.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 15, 2015 @ 01:09:39

      There is a quote which is a favorite of ours, from First Monday In October: “A telephone has no constitutional right to be answered,” which we have taken on as our own mantra. Now we just turn off the ringer, and if somebody wants to really reach us, they’ll leave a message. We affectionately call it ‘being off world.”

      Like

      Reply

  5. JoHanna Massey
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 19:29:51

    Wonderful post.

    I am so out of touch with anyone I do not even turn my phone on for days at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Colette B
    Oct 20, 2015 @ 08:50:57

    Oh I love that phrase ‘being off world’ Fim. My own very short response this week was about not answering calls – As usual I’m late in the game posting and don’t make my visits until after, which is a shame as there are some fantastic inspirational / parodiable comments from one of your visitors (eavesdropping – isn’t that a strange word!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 20, 2015 @ 13:24:20

      Thank you Colette. Yes, we live by the phrase, ‘being off world.’ It gives us a sense of being free from things that intrude. I’m usually late in posting, as well, since even off world life has a way getting in the way of following my passion.

      I agree, eavesdropping is strange. It feels like taking the eaves off the house and letting it fall to the ground, which actually happened last year, the first living in this house – as sole owners, and residents.

      I tend to go and read after I’ve posted, because I don’t want to influence my personal journey by coveting that of others. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

