Sandbox Writing Challenge #11 – Fascinating.

Today, Calen, the most excellent host of this Sandbox Writing Challenge, at Impromptu Promptlings, has left us to ponder and convey what fascinates us.

Lots of things fascinate me. But if I had to be more specific, which, of course I do, I love puzzles, games, challenges until they are no longer challenging, or I lose interest. I’m utterly fascinated with maps. I go to take a look at a map and I’m suddenly being nudged that it’s time to eat, or do something which we’d planned. I get lost in them.

I have always loved taking things apart, and putting them back together. So finding out how things work, fascinates me. Figuring things out. I love a mystery. Which is why I’m drawn to programs on the television like CSI, WITHOUT A TRACE, NCIS, and thus and such.

I grew up looking forward to the holidays, because we’d always have a jigsaw puzzle up on a table in the house. I have one waiting for the table space right now. The more intricate, the better…

Ravensburger Puzzle

When I was little, my parents had puzzle boxes… which had hidden compartments in them, and trying to figure out how to open them would keep me busy for long periods of time.

I’ve enjoyed putting models together, and building things. My brother’s erector set was quite fascinating for me. The mystery of ‘the red trunk’ still has me trying to figure out exactly where those things went, after being taken out of the trunk, and the trunk being hidden outside, behind our shed. That, in itself, will remain a mystery, but I can have great fun imagining the whys and wherefores of what took place; what led to that strange situation.

Currently, I’m not only fascinated by a game I’ve been playing since around June, this year, but am totally addicted. If you’ve read some of my previous posts, you’ll knowΒ it’s My Singing Monsters. The game is quite intricate, and educational, and fun!

Of course, all of this interest also applies to why I am the way I am… My finding out that very thing is part of my Earth Walk.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jabrush1213
    Oct 20, 2015 @ 20:00:43

    Love doing puzzles, they teak time and the finished project is grate to look at.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Oct 20, 2015 @ 23:45:28

    We have a lot of the same interests. Maybe you should try your hand at writing a murder mystery with lots of clues. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 11 — What fascinates you? | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. Faraday's Candle
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 18:30:26

    Sounds like fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. JoHanna Massey
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 09:55:39

    Love a good jigsaw with a CSI marathon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

