Monday Music Medicine Show – Remember When?

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to the Monday Medicine Show!

It’s 1980. The 70s disco craze has faded. There are new tunes emerging on the scene. Quite many groups and songs come to mind. I was just out of college, and heading into a new decade, eager to discover all the new and fun music which would take us by storm.

This morning, I came across one of my favorite, get up and dance, songs, by the group, Loverboy.

Yes, there were so many other artists and songs which went every which way, each with a special draw. I recently wanted to add some more music to my jazzercize playlist, and this one fit the bill so well. I still have the vinyl record in my collection.

What does this song evoke down my memory lane? This was a time when I went off the cuff. Sitting in a Howard Johnson’s out on Long Island, with my friend, thinking of what we wanted to do, both of us ready to find that perfect fit for the moment. This was the beginning of our 15 minutes of fame in the music business.

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, when you think of the 80s (those who were there), what song comes to mind? What memory does it bring up for you?  Those who were not incarnate yet, what songs have you inherited from those who you know from that time?

Please share the songs that fit this situation. You know I want to hear it. Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

WAIT….

I have one more item to introduce here.

Others have used it, and I figured I take that chance. I’ve created a poll, which I would appreciate all who stop by to take time to answer a question:

POLL
http://goo.gl/OjhrFI

Now we’re done, so in the tradition of the Monday Music Medicine Show, BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Getting Lost On The 80’s | Spiritual Dragonfly
  2. calensariel
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 20:41:41

    I’ve never heard that before but I REALLY like it. I guess I’m going to have to break down and ask for an MP3 player for Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 27, 2015 @ 14:12:21

      YAY! MP3 players are great! You can walk around listening to music all day, and like a Walkman (which they are), so portable. 🙂 It was a fun song, and they had other hits too. all of which get us up on our feet, and dancing, and that’s healthy 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Faraday's Candle
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 20:47:46

    Voted!!
    Smooth…& practically everything else being lead by classical.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. badfish
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 22:18:32

    It’s the 80’s. I’m in grad school, living in a one-car garage with 13 kittens and my cat, Bullet. I’m not a Loverboy fan, but I go see ZZ Top in concert, and Loverboy opens for them. This is not my kind of music. But when you’re that high in the crowd, everything sounds good.
    Hey…how come I don’t have a reblog button on my site, do I have to put one on? I think I had one previously??? someone has reblogged me?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Oct 27, 2015 @ 14:22:13

      I like your 80s, and ZZ TOP was on my list of listens, as well. I just am too eclectic for my own good, because I love to set my playlists up to have certain things follow other things, and I name them accordingly, and Mr. Quantum grumbles because he doesn’t understand my system. LOL

      About the reblog button, mine is right next to my LIKE button. I never did that on purpose, but if you’ve been messing around in settings, you might have taken that option out. So, try looking at settings, and seeing if you’ve disabled your reblog?

      I’d have said, maybe we can see it on your site but you can’t, but I just tried it on my own site, and saw I had one there. Let me know if you still can’t find it. We’ll figure it out. Now worries. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • badfish
        Oct 30, 2015 @ 06:41:49

        I wasn’t really a ZZ fan, but man, they could play guitar. They would be jamming fast, then all of a sudden, stop playing all at once. Then, all at once, start again. THAT was dang cool. Especially if there was “stuff” floating around the concert hall.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Oct 30, 2015 @ 13:23:08

          I SO know what you mean about the concert hall… and about ZZ Top.
          SO, were you to have to name a favored group, which has stayed with you after all these years, who would it be?

          Like

          Reply

          • badfish
            Oct 30, 2015 @ 23:12:54

            Group: Stones. Beatles. CCR.
            Single: Bob Seger, Janis Joplin, Dylan

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Nov 02, 2015 @ 11:40:21

              Most excellent!!!
              Have you heard anything in this century which you like enough to buy their music?

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • badfish
                Nov 03, 2015 @ 06:54:39

                Um, THIS century, huh? I like Taylor Swift. Catchy little tunes, nice voice. Wouldn’t want to date her. Man eater from what I hear. I don’t really get to hear too much music, just on the radio on the way to work and back. I don’t really buy music, don’t sit at home and listen to it very often. When I write I might have something soft in the background, classical or acoustic stuff. Dylan and Seger for when I’m ironing or working around the house. What do you like that’s new?

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 04, 2015 @ 22:24:39

      Nahko Bear, Michael Franti, Cee Low Green’s “What Part of Forever.” I heard a song I fell in love with from the first note: “The Blower’s Daughter” as sung by Chris Mann, fearturing Christina Aguilera. “Sail” by AWOLNation, “Crazy All My Life” by Daniel Powter, Diana Krall, Alexander Ebert, “In The Twilight.” And then there’s “If You Want To” by Griffin House. There’s also, “Black” by Kari Kimmel. Did I mention, Lenka’s “Everything At Once?” And my list wouldn’t be complete without, “The Seal Lullaby,” by Eric Whiteacre. I could keep going of course. But there are many many new things I’ve found. Tip of the iceberg these songs. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Ladies Of The 80’s 🎶🎶🎶 | Spiritual Dragonfly

Leave a Reply

