The Monday Music Medicine Show – What Word?

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to the Monday Medicine Show!

Last week, I tried a poll here in the Monday Music Medicine Show. The options were Smooth, Raunchy, Light and Hard.

First, I thank all who visited, and voted.

I guess you are all wondering what each of the words represented. Well, I won’t keep you waiting. What they did not represent was a genre. The words were, in fact, the title of songs, or a word contained in the title.

Smooth,” is a song by one of my favorite musicians, and groups, Santana, which has been on my radar from back in the 60s, but this is actually a tune which came to light in 1999. The featured vocalist is Rob Thomas.  I love Latin music, specifically rock and pop.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you SMOOTH:

That leaves us with what songs the other words inspired.

“Raunchy” is a song by Bill Justis, which we (Mr. Quantum and I) heard on an oldies radio station, which we listen to at breakfast (when we’re not going through our vinyl collection). We had not heard it before last year, though it was first recorded and released in a collection featuring various artists in 1957.

On the LIGHT side of things, I chose a song by one of my favorite Japanese musicians, Kitaro. “Light of the Spirit” is a beautiful composition, that lifts my Spirit!

Is it HARD to remember where you heard this last song? Was it Three Dog Night who brought it to you? Did you know that the musical, HAIR, was the first place we heard about how it is “Easy to be Hard?”

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, what did you expect each word to be about? You know I want to hear it. What music, or song comes to mind for each? Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jabrush1213
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 16:54:06

    Love Music Mondays, music really is medicine for the soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 17:10:48

    Ooo! GREAT post! And don’t fall over, but I’m very familiar with “Raunchy!” Comes from growing up with teenaged cousins when I was young! Now this is a hard one, though, Fim… Gotta do some thinkin’.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Faraday's Candle
    Nov 02, 2015 @ 22:44:20

    Love the HAIR song. Sad, touching and beautiful. Music is the souls medicine for real!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. kim
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 12:43:27

    Aw, I missed your poll last week… my computer broke.
    I love Santana’s Smooth – you’ll often find me dancing round the kitchen to that great track. Smooth – also reminds me of Sade, with her silky voice singing ‘Smooth Operator’. Raunchy – ‘Fever’ by Peggy Lee. ‘Blinded by the light’ by Manfred Mann. The other one that came immediately to mind was ‘Hard day’s night’ by The Beatles. Great post Fim! x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 03, 2015 @ 22:40:28

      Thank you so much, Kim for sharing what the words brought out for you!! (sorry to hear of your computer troubles; they sadly abound these days)…

      I’ll bet there a lots of us kitchen Mavens who dance around to Smooth 🙂

      Oh, yes, I loved Smooth Operator!

      While I heard “Fever” by others, I’ll have to take a look at Peggy Lee’s.

      And YES! Blinded by the Light… What memories! I can hear the song in my head.

      Great Beatles song for the word Hard!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show — What word? | Impromptu Promptlings
  6. spiritualdragonfly
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 14:02:02

    I don’t know how in the world this missed me yesterday!!! 😱😱. All good ones!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Trackback: 4 songs prompted by random words | Intermittent Daily Posts

Leave a Reply

