The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Roundabout

Over at Impromptu Promptlings, for the Sandbox Writing Challenge, Lady Calen asks the question, How does this relate to my life? The image was a circle drawn in the sand.

Ah. I know this one! I’d say it’s simple, but that isn’t actually true. Still, It’s LIFE. The circle is the TURNING of the WHEEL, Cycles, Eternity (no beginning, no end). A 2 dimensional Medicine Wheel. The Safe Place to be. Wax on, Wax Off. The Never Ending Story. The base of a sweat lodge. A Red Tent Temple.

So how does this relate to my life?

Once I looked at the picture, and crawled out of my run-away train, seeing the “O” stated as the letter O which took me to a kinky little tale, called The Story of O, it all came pouring out…

It was vivid; drawn in the sand. It reminded me of the fact that when I was wee child, my mom and aunt, created a circle where my ‘cousin’ and I were placed, for safety. We were told not to leave the circle.

It was their way of keeping us in one place, and probably was the first glimpse of the spiritual realm.

What comes around, goes around.

Records are round, as are CDs and DVDs, which all carry favorite things of mine. Merry Go Rounds.

Of course there’s got to be a song, right?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 00:25:29

    It was their way of keeping us in one place, and probably was the first glimpse of the spiritual realm. Interesting. How so???

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 05, 2015 @ 00:31:38

      Casting a circle, and it was made with rocks, and now, well, it’s such a part of my life, and I feel like I can say, it’s always been there. Probably more subconscious than conscious. I have no clue what I was thinking back in that moment. But in retrospect, I can see my attraction to rocks and circles stemming from that moment.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 13 — How does this relate to your life? | Impromptu Promptlings
  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 08:13:40

    The circle of life. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. badfish
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 23:29:08

    I wish sometimes, someone would put a circle around me and not allow me to wander past. I guess I have a circle, it just seems like it’s pretty big. Is there really such a thing as a circle? Or do we see what we want to see?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 06, 2015 @ 21:14:57

      It probably is all a matter of perspective. The Earth circles the Sun. As for seeing what we want, I think that depends on the person. Some might not see what they want. Interpretation is really all about what it is each person sees. What did you see in that picture?

      Why not put yourself in a circle and choose to not pass beyond that barrier? When I was a child, I knew not what was happening. Now I can choose to make a circle and, if not stay in it eternally, at least have it as a sort of retreat. On the other hand, perhaps it isn’t about going in and out of the circle, but how we experience where we are and what is around us… ?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. Faraday's Candle
    Nov 06, 2015 @ 12:26:10

    Pretty deep!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. JoHanna Massey
    Nov 08, 2015 @ 07:58:26

    Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Fimnora Westcaw
    Nov 08, 2015 @ 18:00:05

    Thank you, JoHanna! I love it when a prompt feels like the back of my hand, from the quote of the same. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

