The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Simple Is As Simple Does

The Sandbox Writing Challenge, hosted by the lovely Calen, from Impromptu Promptlings, is serving up something quite a bit more complicated than it sounds. It seems amost to be a dichotomy.

How can I simplfy my life?

That is a dangerous question for me. Aside from the fact that I make everything more complicated than it needs to be, simplifying my life would take me out of all the activities I’m doing right now.

This time of year, it’s highly likely I could find myself doing just that. More out of salvation than anything. This time of year is anathema to me, beyond words. It was, in fact, this very time last that year I slipped into a DEEP hibernation. I stopped doing just about everything. Granted, the year had been overflowing with moving, packing, unpacking, and trying to fit in those so called, activities of daily living (you know, cooking, eating, sleeping…) in. It wasn’t until January that I slithered up out of my hidey hole and found a button, and clicked on it. Suddenly, while the days were still dark and cold, life was morphing into something quite amazing. Blogging U offering Blogging 101, was my ‘salvation’ as well as the doorway to an amazing group of people to which I’ve come to feel very fond.

I’m sliding back down into that Persephone place, and this year carries some rather disquieting complications with it. So I can see myself vegging out on a couch, My Singing Monsters in one hand (on my kindle), and the remote to the TV in the other.

MSMKindle Couch Potato with remotes

As you can see, this gives me just a wee bit of variety – besides, the wait between collecting money and feeding the ovens has gotten longer… Those Monsters are quite a lot more sizable, and have been multiplying like bunnies… HELP! help! hel… he… h…

Simplifying IS very much on more than one level. The outer world has been simplified – for a bit at any rate – nicely. Maybe a little bit TOO nicely. I’m practically at a standstill.

The inner world, on the other hand, has just become seriously tumultuous. While it can be physically paralyzing, it doesn’t stop the inner chaos. I’m thinking: “Calgon, take me away!”

Of course the help for that comes in the form of what I used to have on my desktop, a saying about ‘distraction addiction.’ But what kind of a distraction? The simple easy kind? Or the digging into the pile of detritus that needs to be sorted out here in Serenity?

I have a sense that were I to try to simplify, it would be in bits and pieces.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 16:43:46

    I’m feeling more and more like that myself. At a standstill in my outer life in this house, but suddenly in intense, intense turmoil inside over things I know shouldn’t be that hard. Lordy, I hope it’s just the time of year… Great post, Fim.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 14 — Simplify! | Impromptu Promptlings
  3. Faraday's Candle
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 07:34:26

    Ha, ha, ha!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. badfish
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 23:40:51

    I posted once, it didn’t seem to take…this is second try

    Love the photo! Maybe simplicity is not all it’s cracked up to be. Maybe life is not all it’s cracked up to be. Life is just simply no place for a good person to live these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Fimnora Westcaw
    Nov 18, 2015 @ 13:21:44

    In getting a chaos to things, it’s actually a gift in the way of challenge, to find the patterns within the chaos, thus, restoring the simplicity.

    I know, easier said than done, but the adventure can be quite enlightening. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

