The Monday Music Medicine Show – OHWs

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to the Monday Medicine Show!

A week or so ago, I had a recommendation from the lovely Lady Calen, over at Impromptu Promptlings,  to feature One Hit Wonders on The Monday Music Medicine Show. I thought it was a good idea, but I had to go look for that song which I loved which fit into that category.

Of course, that would mean looking through at least five decades of OHWs and while that would have been music heaven, having to listen to so much music, I did need to find the song which I have in my playlist. This isn’t just, ‘oh I remember that song, but what happened to that singer,’ type thing. I want it to be more like, ‘I wish they’d done more.’

I had a song in mind, which actually came to my attention when I began watching American Idol, during a time I needed something to watch that would get me out of the depths of despair for a few minutes. I most definitely was in a time of having a “Bad Day.” The song, I discovered, I would later hear on the radio, and I knew it was obviously something that other people might have also come to love, as I did.

Daniel Powter was unknown to me before this song came out. You may also recall this tune.

That seemed to be the last I’d hear from him. Of course it was more through my own laziness, and lack of time. This year, actually, I wanted to find more music to use for my exercise regimine. Happily, I decided to go looking for more things by Daniel. While I can’t say that this song ever hit the charts at all (I haven’t paid attention to the charts since I was in my teens), I was not only delighted to find it, but soon came to love it, if not equally, possibly a bit more. It also speaks to something I’ve felt about myself. Mind you, it’s not in a negative way. I actually love being like this:


So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, have you a favorite song which falls into the One Hit Wonder realm? You know I want to hear it! Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spiritualdragonfly
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 13:27:00

    I. LOVE. Daniel Powter!!!!’

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Trackback: One Hit Wonders…for Wonders Never Cease…🎤🎤🎤🎤 | Spiritual Dragonfly
  3. spiritualdragonfly
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 14:03:34

    Just so you know….listening to the cd now!!! lol. Free Loopin’

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Faraday's Candle
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 21:56:57

    Hi! Sorry I’m late for the Monday show!! Daniel Powter really rocked it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 18, 2015 @ 13:26:42

      There’s no such thing as late. There’s getting here when you can, and I’m always happy when you come and join in! After all, Monday is the beginning, and it all starts over again the next Monday, so there’s seven days to each Music Medicine Show!

      Yes, I have enjoyed Daniel from the first, and even more so in the second. I can’t sit still when that song comes on my playlist ‘radio.’ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. calensariel
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 10:25:55

    Very good! I’ve never heard ANY of those! I’m going to have to quit saying that. It’s obviously from my own music even that I dropped out of the pop music scene for 30 years! I liked all three of these, though. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show — One-Hit Wonders | Impromptu Promptlings
  7. badfish
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 20:17:37

    I really only know one song by DP, Bad Day. Always liked it. I tried to listen to Free Loop but got a message saying something like: no way, dude. maybe I’ll try elsewhere, now you’ve made me curious.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 18, 2015 @ 13:31:01

      Bad Day was the song which brought him to my attention, as well. I only found Crazy All My Life just this year, and happily so. It’s my new mantra lol
      And don’t pay attention to those who speak ill of curiosity, since satisfaction is restorative. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

