The Sandbox Writing Challenge 15 – Perilous Pursuits

 

Danger Risk

The email, containing no title, no address of origin, was a lone item blinking for attention from my inbox. A single click is necessary to open up and read the intended message.

Sure, I knew what it was, yet the specifics were, as yet, unrevealed. If I clicked, I’d be committed, IF I accepted the mission, to following through.

It was always a risk to accept assignment.  Thus, even without the words, I knew it was asking me to take that risk.  In fact, it is no different, from this assignment, given to all of us, agents of personal excavation, from our fearless leader, The Lady Calen of Impromptu Promptlings.

Slowly I turn, step by step, inch by inch….

CLICK

last chance

The question before us:

What risks have you taken in your life?

I tend to have that first thought, off the top of my head, that may not end up being what I write, but I find it interesting to see how my spontaneous mind puts out the immediate response that is often over the top.

That said, two things came to mind:

1) What risks haven’t I taken?
2) Walking out the door is taking a risk. Getting out of bed, in fact, is taking a risk, but not getting out of bed is also taking a risk. Sort of a catch 22.

Now that my mind play has had its way, let’s get down to the serious world of “risky business.”

Looking back – WAY back – some small, silly risks, come to mind.

warning-sign-yellow

Playing on the street corner with friends, I tried to do a handstand, and ended up with a split elbow, and a scar for life.

Paying attention to these things, might have helped me think before leaping, if you know what I mean.

Bigger risks were things like being in college, in my last semester of undergraduate school, and realizing that I’d have to take one class over. I went to my advisor and told him that I wanted to take it over, in another school. Of course, I’d already chosen what school I wanted to go to, and had, in fact, called that college and spoken with the dean of admissions about my plan to take this last class out there.

Believing that their answer of, yes, of course I could do that, really meant that I had my foot in that door, my asking my advisor was more a statement of what I was going to do. I got a no, to that request, which in turn pushed that button I have where I simply said, fine, then I’m outta here. What I meant was, if they didn’t allow me, I’d just quit. My advisor relented, when I told him about the other school agreeing.

So, I packed up my things over the summer and drove 2000 miles out to Colorado, and, boy was my face red, when I was informed that there was no such agreement. “But, I called and you said I could, and… and… and…” To which they suggested I speak with the teacher of this already filled, and closed class. I did, and she was quite understanding about my dilemma, and allowed me to take the class.

It was a risk which could have backfired completely, but on the other hand, I was where I’d planned to  be, when I graduated college… in Colorado – a return trip I had promised myself six years prior.

The reprecussions of that, however, would follow me through the years, and not always as I would have wished. A failed an internship, after I’d done the class, would put the kabosh on my graduation plans, and when at loggerheads with the dean of my department, being denied admission to take liscensure exams, I simply took those lemons and made my own special brand of lemonade. I took a creative writing class, for the 4 measley points I needed to graduate, and got a BS (and I’m not just whistling Dixie here), in Liberal Arts, with a major in Occupational Therapy, and a minor in psychology. I did get a job for a year or so, in OT, until time came to take that exam to get my license. No certificate, no work.  But never deterred, I went in another direction, which, IMO, turned out a far greater place to be in life. I got a job at the Parapsychology Foundation, and later, took the risk of going off on my own to publish a music magazine, and so on and so forth.

The way I saw it was, each place took me to a place I needed to be at that time, to meet the people I needed to meet, and I am where I am supposed to be.

GREATER RISK

Getting married can be a risk, but that risk turned out to be one of my best decisions – as I mentioned in a previous challenge post.

STUPID RISK AHEAD

But life is not all ‘coming up daisies.’ I have paid with some dire consequences with risks I took back before college, when I was young and wild, and sowing my rebellious oats. Today, the consequences have proven to be life threatening.

Would have taken those risks had I known what would happen 30 to 40 years down the road? I don’t know, to be honest.

Still on many levels I remain a risk taker. I know that I have a rather stubborn streak in me which challenges the way things are. But then, so did people like Galileo, and Copernicus, and Nikola Tesla, Leif Erikson, Christopher Columus, Alan Shepard, Neil Armstong, Jim Lovell, Lewis and Clark, Admiral Byrd… You get the message.  I’d say I’m in good company.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spiritualdragonfly
    Nov 20, 2015 @ 14:49:04

    Great post Fim!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
    Nov 20, 2015 @ 15:36:59

    Loving reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 15 — Risks! | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. calensariel
    Nov 20, 2015 @ 23:19:49

    Most excellent post, Fim!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. howardhalliday
    Nov 21, 2015 @ 19:47:38

    Very nice post, Fim. That “consequences” theme is always interesting.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 09:06:48

    Great post, Fim. Nice to know you a little better. Ah yes, risks and consequences. Being young and rebellious was definitely risky business. I’m surprised I made it through the things I did. But i guess that’s what youth is all about. Our brains aren’t quite formed yet, so we do things we never would do now. Every now and then, though, it ‘s good to still do some things like that. Don’t you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Nov 22, 2015 @ 19:14:48

      Thank you, Mary! I’m really liking this challenge. It’s bringing me places I don’t think about, or if I do, it’s often only internal, so getting another’s affirmation is important. Yes, we had to try it our way back then, not knowing what ripples might come into our ponds down the line.

      I agree, it IS good to still do some things like that. It makes me feel a little of that ‘I can do anything,’ way I must have felt back then. Plus, I do it now with a dash of caution.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  7. Faraday's Candle
    Nov 24, 2015 @ 09:52:09

    Great post. Do you play in that sandbox often!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Fimnora Westcaw
    Nov 24, 2015 @ 22:04:32

    Thank you! Yes, every week, now, as the challenge goes on! It’s been really keeping me on my toes. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

