Mundane Monday #35 – A Mazing

Pho Trablogger brings us another chance to look at what we may see everyday, and possibly take for granted, in a new way, and find the beauty in it.

I have had a few occasions to grab my camera, one of those times was to capture this unique rock.

IMG_0099

 It has been in my family for as long as I can remember. I am thinking it was found on a beach, or something like that. I really love the intricate maze it produces.  We call it the brain rock.

 

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Nov 30, 2015 @ 20:47:12

    Funky. Really does look like a brain. Drollery says a beach is a good guess because it looks like some kind of sea coral. Cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Dec 01, 2015 @ 10:11:09

    Looks like coral to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Faraday's Candle
    Dec 01, 2015 @ 20:08:46

    It does remind one of a brain. How awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. trablogger
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 06:57:12

    Is it really a rock? Maybe a carved rock? Or do you think it happened naturally?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Mundane Monday Challenge #36 | PhoTrablogger
  6. I. J. Khanewala
    Dec 06, 2015 @ 20:31:55

    Lovely find. Is it a rock? If it is somewhat light in weight, then it could be a coral.

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Dec 07, 2015 @ 00:07:27

      Thank you. It is a rock. It’s quite hefty. If you click on the pic and look at it close up, you can see that it looks like it’s been made over quite a long time. It reminds me of fossils in a way.

      Like

      Reply

  7. Rambling Rose
    Dec 08, 2015 @ 10:29:27

    I have a piece – much smaller – with identical design picked up on a beach. I am told it is coral.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Dec 10, 2015 @ 16:21:25

    I wonder if it is a fossil of coral. Where did it come from? So much of the earth used to be under water.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Fimnora Westcaw
    Dec 11, 2015 @ 22:02:58

    Oh that would be SO cool; a fossil of coral! It has been in my life for as far back as I can remember. My parents probably found it on our many visits to the ocean. I only remember it being there, on the front porch, and now, here, by our front door, a kind of Guardian of the Realm.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. stephanie landeros
    May 31, 2016 @ 09:38:46

    i found a rock like this on the beach in Isla Mujeres Mexico, i was doing some research to see what it was and ran across this post.

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 31, 2016 @ 22:14:16

      Wow! That’s so exciting to find someone else who’s come across such a beautiful rock! It’s the most amazing I’ve ever seen, and we still have it here with us, after 50 years. Thank you for stopping by and telling me about your own ‘find.’

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

