The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Looking Back

Oh, a test! And I didn’t even study for it. Hope I get a passing grade. 🙂 Calen said we’ve reached  our first REVIEW for The Sandbox Writing Challenge, from her headquarters over at Impromptu Promptlings for which we have a few questions to answer:

1.Did any of your answers surprise you? Why or why not?

Thinking…

The 1st Challenge, about looking at myself in the mirror, and writing about what I like about myself. So, yes, I was surprised by the fact that I like how I look now, better than how I looked at the various stages of my evolution through years. That’s not to say I never liked how I looked. But generally speaking… Oh dear, I’m digressing, and that’s not what I was going to talk about. What surprises me, which I noted, is that I can see my mother in my reflection – sometimes. That is happy making for me.

2.Was there any one exercise that felt more emotionally “charged” than the others? If so you may want to take a few moments and write a bit more about it. But only write until the “energy” runs out.

While ’emotionally’ charged may carry with it a connotation of darker energy, in many instances. Not so for me. The one post which was emotionally charged, and honestly needs no further explantion, was the LOVE IS challenge, which entails the seeking, and finding

“that crazy little thing called love.”

Which started with that age old question, “can anybody find me somebody to love?”

3. Are there exercises that feel incomplete? Go with your energy. Complete those exercises now. You’ll know they are finished when your energy is spent and the exercise feels complete.

I just sat and read through all of my posts from The Sandbox, and I don’t think there was anything I left out, or felt was incomplete in any of them. On the other hand, I usually feel like I’m missing SOMETHING somewhere.

That part of the review is done.

But we’re not finished.

The next part is asking us to share anything we’ve written more about any of them, to share it. You’ll be happy to know, I did not write further.

There’s this odd thing which I feel about writing – yes, I edit, but, it’s always just grammatical, or the like. When I’ve been working on a piece of fiction, and I’ve put it out there, aka published, I find it hard to change anything. Now understand that adding isn’t same as changing, but I think that if it didn’t come to me the first time, it probably wasn’t something I felt would add to what was already written. Yes, going over these posts had some thoughts flashing by, but nothing really forgotten. If I did a Tarot reading about this, I’d pull the ‘hidden factor’ card (from the bottom of the deck). But that would entail doing a whole reading about this. Take my word for it. This is not the time to do that. LSDL.

That leaves me with ‘at the very least,’ option. What did I think about doing these challenges.

Simply said, if I didn’t like doing it, I would not be doing it.

What did I learn about myself?

One thing is that I have stuck with it. That doesn’t mean I’m contradicting what I just said. I think one of my posts (can’t remember which one) I spoke of having this proclivity to not follow through, or finish things. It’s just who I am, having nothing to do with if I like doing something. I have a really difficult time actually following through on almost everything in my life.

So much so, that if it gets past, say, 2pm on any given day, it’s too late to do what I’d planned. It’s not always about being lazy. It’s about, if I didn’t get to it, maybe I wasn’t supposed to do it? But that does bring up some questions about self-care. Why don’t I follow through on the plan for healing myself? Maybe that will be something to look at down the road?

There, something that I hadn’t mentioned… or did I, and just don’t remember? *shrug*

Did they help you open up on your blog?

I think I am pretty open. I don’t know that there isn’t much I haven’t revealed about myself… The whole blogging thing has been instrumental in doing that.

Did you enjoy them, or were they a pain in the butt?

I may complain about having to come up with something to write about in this challenge, but that’s just me enjoying the experience of complaining. I have enjoyed these. I like being challenged – unless it is challenging me in something I don’t want to do. Thus, I do want to do these. It’s time well spent, if you ask me.

The End of Review #1

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Faraday's Candle
    Dec 02, 2015 @ 23:13:38

    You are so right! Writing is always time well spent.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge — Review #1 | Impromptu Promptlings
  3. calensariel
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 00:26:52

    Very good review. I’m going to do what you did and go back and read through all my posts, too. I’m glad you’re happy about looking like your mother! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  4. Faraday's Candle
    Dec 05, 2015 @ 11:59:25

    Hello Fimnora

    This is such a fun challenge with little effort.
    Hope you like it!

    http://faradayscandle.com/believing-science/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. JoHanna Massey
    Dec 07, 2015 @ 16:09:07

    Interesting post my dear Fimnora. I have noticed a definite change in my ‘follow through’ mode. I will eventually get a task completed, but I pick it up and put it down very easily, seeming to peck at things until they are completed rather than gobbling them up anymore. Can I blame it on being old? Of most things I do not being challenging and interesting? To many things being too challenging and smarter to complete than my skill set? All and none of it I suppose.
    My best to you this day.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

