The Sandbox Writing Challenge – The PUs

In The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Part 2 Loosening Up Exercise, Lady Calen, of Impromptu Promptlings, brings us the difficult task of describing our parents, and then the even more difficult task of putting down what we believe our parent thought of us. Half of it is easy. The other, not so much.

What words would you use to describe your mother?

loving
kind
friend
generous
encouraging
supportive
guiding
spiritual
out going
explorer
creative
well read
very smart

 
What words would you use to describe your father?

difficult
challenging
stubborn
a good boss – to others.
smart
creative
dictatorial
mean
controlling
Two faced

What words would your mother use to describe you?

sweet
helpful
smart
independant
creative
spiritual
out going
curious
stubborn

What words would your father use to describe you?

stubborn
creative
opinionated
rebellious
contrary

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Twisted Short Stories
    Dec 10, 2015 @ 22:52:05

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Your Mum ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Dec 10, 2015 @ 23:12:39

    Sounds like it was pretty hard growing up with your father, but it looks like your mom was a good buffer. She sounds wonderful, as does your relationship with her. Are they still living?
    Interesting that the only 2 qualities in common that you thought they would say for you were creativity and stubbornness. I guess your creativity is so obvious, even your father would have to see it.
    Thanks for sharing that, Fim.
    Blessings
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Dec 11, 2015 @ 22:35:44

      Buffer is a very good word. I fear that she was all too often forced into that position.
      My mom crossed over 2006, just six months after we moved up here to help them out. My father survived seven years after. I do believe that he and I were meant to have his final years together, to try to work out things.

      Both of my folks were very creative. My mom wrote, and did a great deal of needle work. My father wrote plays when I was just a little girl, which were put on by my parents’ friends. In his last years, we wrote a story together, which was never finished.

      Thank you for your thoughts, Mary.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
        Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:35:50

        No wonder you are such a great creative writer. So your dad died just two years ago. Grief over losing both parents is so hard. I hope that you were able to work some things out with him before he left. I wonder if you will finish that story, or if it needs to stay unfinished?
        Blessings
        Mary

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Dec 13, 2015 @ 16:17:10

          It has been a difficult century so far, on the loss front. I hope that we did work out some stuff, but I fear there was more that evolved after my mother crossed over.
          I’ve wondered about if the story should be finished. We stopped because we came to a difference of opinion on the direction of his character. Now, I don’t feel finishing it how I saw it would be right. We’d written about 200 pages of story before stopping. We’d begun on an old DOS system, but did get it switched over to a WIN XP somehow.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

          • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
            Dec 13, 2015 @ 16:51:02

            Yeah, I can see why you might not want to finish it. Maybe one day the right ending will just come to you. Who knows? Either way, it must have been nice to do that together.

            Grief is so much harder when the relationship is complicated. Like with your mom it was probably unbearable sadness, while with your dad, I would imagine some confusion and unresolved feelings along with sadness.. I hope you have been able to work it through inside yourself, even if it wasn’t totally resolved with him.
            Blessings
            Mary

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Dec 14, 2015 @ 23:26:23

              It was quite nice to be able to write with him. It will be something I hope will be part of those resolutions, down the line, when I go back read it again. I’ve still yet to truly process a lot, though what I have felt in each one’s crossing is the relief that their suffering is over. The sense of loss is my own journey. Their being at peace finally took precedence.

              In the very early days after my mother crossed, I was given the gift of seeing a Hawk hovering over me as I sat at her grave. At that moment, and from then on, I knew she was an integral part of All That Is, and when I see one fly, I feel she is with me, riding the thermals, watching over me.

              I do agree about the confusion and unresolved feelings as they relate to the loss of my father. I strive to allow the thoughts not to be colored by what is now forever in the past. I continue to process.

              Thank you for your thoughts. It helps to receive perspective in the words of others.

              Blessings,

              Fim

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
                Dec 15, 2015 @ 08:10:12

                That is beautiful about your mom showing herself to you and being with you through the hawk. Sounds like your relationship with her continues. Pure Love.
                I noticed the new Sandbox challenge this morning. I have used that exercise in my practice so often. It’s really a good one. I hope you find it as such.
                Many blessings
                Mary

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply

                • Fimnora Westcaw
                  Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27:31

                  I’ve always felt that when a person leaves the physical body behind, they become part of the greater Universe, and they are in all things around us.

                  I just saw there was a new Sandbox Challenge. I still have some emails to get through to reach it. Looking forward to what new activity I’ll be delving into.

                  Blessings
                  Fim

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply

  3. calensariel
    Dec 11, 2015 @ 00:34:28

    I will be interested to see HOW or IF these lists come into play in the next set of exercises!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. badfish
    Dec 11, 2015 @ 03:11:29

    very interesting, very personal, very telling…neither mentioned “spooky”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Dec 11, 2015 @ 22:39:07

      Thank you for your words.

      They actually might have used the word, now that I think back on some odd things which happened as I was growing up. But it didn’t come to me.

      Still, I feel the word really belongs to you… like it’s our word… Did you know I was going to say that? ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

      Reply

  5. spiritualdragonfly
    Dec 11, 2015 @ 06:34:25

    Wast easy…but I’m grateful it helped push me to really be honest with myself!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  6. jabrush1213
    Dec 11, 2015 @ 15:55:16

    Sounds like your father was the tough parent, while your mother was the not so tough parent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

