The Monday Music Medicine Show – Birds and Seals and Rain

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO

Welcome to the Monday Music Medicine Show!

The last few days, I’ve been working on mindfulness – moving through my morning, being aware of each movement, with a nice selection of music to go with it.

The song which first came on after I donned my headphones is one I’ve known for years. What I found interesting is I heard the words and drew out an understanding of them which I’d not considered before.

It’s a simple ‘chant’ like song. The words are two repeated lines, weaving in harmony, making a lovely chorus.

“There’s a river of birds in migration,
A nation of women with wings.”

It was during this listening when I realized that this spoke directly to the Fae in me. I flittered and swooped about (inside) trilling along to the acapella music.

I do so love chorals. And you know how one thing leads to another, and soon I was finding this perfect favorite ever song, also a choral: The Seal Lullaby by Eric Whitacre.

And I ended with “Listen to the Rain” as done by Evanescence

Other chorals are in my playlists, but these came to me this morning, to share with you.

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, if it pleases you to play, share with us: what choral songs fill you with the exquisite allure of voices beautifully blending together, and wrap you in their embrace? You know I want to hear it! Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jabrush1213
    Jan 04, 2016 @ 19:27:51

    All great songs to enjoy on a Monday to start off a new work week.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. Faraday's Candle
    Jan 04, 2016 @ 19:56:10

    Evanescence is just so beautiful. A great Zen moment!
    Always a pleasure to stop here on Monday’s.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. calensariel
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 00:33:53

    All three of those are just beautiful. I particularly liked the second one. I will have to do some studying on that one! But I don’t think I have a song for you this week! 😮 Oh dear… I’ll have to think hard.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Learning to love choral music | A Thousand Finds
  5. JoHanna Massey
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 23:54:05

    I arrived at this post having never known of any of these pieces of music. Can you imagine my state of grace this moment as “Listen to the Rain” comes to it’s ending?
    The Seal Lullaby is my favorite, but each is just beautiful. Fim…Thank you so much for introducing me to this music.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 06, 2016 @ 20:53:01

      It makes my heart so happy to know that what I have shared today evokes in others what they do in myself. Your comment is the truest meaning of “Music Medicine” and has been a life long pursuit for me.

      I have been putting a selection of songs on repeat in a special folder so that I can enjoy the embrace of their melody as I move through the moments of my day.

      Thank you for coming to the Show and sharing your wonderful thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • JoHanna Massey
        Jan 08, 2016 @ 16:08:28

        I have been listening to Eric Whitacre for several days now.
        The folder idea sounds good. All my best for you today Fimnora 🎷

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Jan 08, 2016 @ 22:33:53

          It is so beautiful. I could leave that song, alone, on repeat, and never tire of it.
          The original folder these songs were in, were part of a larger folder which contained some tunes, but I found that certain ones suddenly didn’t seem to fit in. So, I pulled out about six songs, which work very well together, and put them in their own folder. There are two others, which I had not posted in the blog, but are key pieces for moving meditation.

          Bright Blessings, JoHanna.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 20:49:24

    Oh, I really do love choral music. Thank you for this. I enjoyed picking out the harmonies and singing along.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 21:37:46

    Yeah, I almost cried during that one. Heavenly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Learning to Love Choral Music | Soundpost

Leave a Reply

