The Sandbox Writing Challenge – The Other

Standing here, in the sandbox, I consider what the lovely Impromptu Promptlings Lady Calen has presented for this week’s challenge.

What have you done that no one knows about?

A very interesting question. So many answers would actually seem benign. For instance, one day when I was working for the Parapsychology Foundation, I was leaving the bagel shop where I went every morning, just before heading to the office. As I departed, a young woman approached me, asking for money – panhandling. Now I’ve given money, while stopped at a light, when one of the street people came and washed my window for a few ‘bits’ – whatever one can spare. But I was never in the habit of just giving money to someone on the street. I didn’t know if they were really hungry, as this woman claimed, or if they wanted cash to buy drugs. What I did was to invite her into the bagel shop and bought her breakfast. I was assured the money was being spent on what it was asked for.

But that is not a secret. It just is how I was and am.

So, what is the juicy dirt on me? I would imagine that is how the question was meant. Or perhaps what I think it means. I’ve always thought of my life as an open book. I’ve certainly shared a great deal of my personal story, in the pages of my blog. Still, there are a few things I’ve never mentioned.

I have an alter ego into whom I slip when I can’t take being inside myself any more. I can feel the shift, and it is rather seemless. One minute I’m the me who doesn’t want to live here anymore, and the next, I’m a daring do other, full of a sense of self that I don’t have. It’s who I imagine I might have been were I born into a different body. Then the shift back happens when I have to be present and accounted for.

That’s probably no surprise, now that I think of it. But it’s the best I can come up with. Let’s just call it brain fog.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Faraday's Candle
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 19:37:00

    You know. I can imagine you feeding someone!

    “Then the shift back happens when I have to be present and accounted for.”
    Love this line!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 19:52:58

    Actually what you said about a “shift” makes perfect sense. I think I USED to be that way, but the older I’ve gotten, the less distance there is between the “two” of us. (Or in my case maybe the “three” of us since I’m a Gemini born on the cusp of Taurus! Good post. Made me think!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Sandbox Writing Challenge 21 — Shhhh! It’s a secret. | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. spiritualdragonfly
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 20:03:33

    ‘The Shift’….I can relate….you verbalized it so well!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 08, 2016 @ 14:34:25

      Thank you, Linda! There is also another kind of shift, which I call the Paradigm Shift. It happens on a Spiritual level. That also is seamless. The difference is the essence and quality of that Universe is open to all of me.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Lori Carlson
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 20:55:40

    Oh dear Fimnora, the things I could tell you, if I weren’t afraid of ridicule… but yes, I understand this “shift” in more ways than I can say. Lovely post.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  6. Soul Gifts
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 07:32:34

    Brain fog can be blamed for so many things, lol. I’m going to have to give this challenge some thought. I guess anyone can join in ?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 14:45:00

    I love this, Fim.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  8. Colette B
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 20:55:51

    Hi Fim 🙂 I can relate to and empathise with ‘the shift’ (but I mostly use mine for cleaning and household tasks that I just can’t concentrate on or that are making me thurt too much – ‘you’ve just got to walk out the room and come back in as the cleaner’ I tell myself! But it doesn’t always work.) Maybe it’s a thing with creative people and those who write, as you are so often putting yourself in someone else’s shoes in developing another character or whatever. it’s a useful coping strategy though if you can make it work for you. Unfortunately i share the brainfog too 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 13, 2016 @ 16:18:10

      Thank you, Colette, for your words. I know I used to ‘pretend’ to be someone else when I was working, and had a rather mundane task to do. It was like stepping into the role like an actor might do. Now, it seems to happen subconsciously. There’s a different quality to how I feel, how I move, even how I think. I agree about the creative person having an easier time slipping in and out of character. It’s like clothing.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  9. JoHanna Massey
    Jan 16, 2016 @ 13:19:36

    Oh I just know in my heart that thousands of people can relate to this.
    A very well expressed piece Fimnora and a good solid response to the challenge query.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. Fimnora Westcaw
    Jan 16, 2016 @ 20:57:02

    Thank you JoHanna, for your words of encouragement and support. These challenges have been quite interesting to face.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

