Mundane Monday #46 – Seeing dots

Today, is not Monday, nor mundane, but I do have a photo for Pho Trablogger’s Mundane Monday’s photo challenge.

IMG_0070

Leaf Acne?

Probably not so much, though it brings dis-ease.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 20:49:35

    Are they berries of some kind?

    Like

    Reply

  2. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 21:17:23

    Actually, they’re a disease, but I can’t remember what kind exactly. It seems all our oaks have them (we have two in our yard). The leaves look healthy, but they get these nodules on them. It’s weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 22:44:31

    Hahaha! Leaf acne!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 22:49:17

    I asked Bill. They are called galls and they each have a little bug inside. I guess the adult bug lays eggs and the larvae make them somehow. I like leaf acne better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Feb 18, 2016 @ 12:56:46

      Yes, leaf gall doesn’t do it lol
      EEKS @ a little bug inside. That tree doesn’t stand a chance. It seems to be Oak specific. I don’t see that on any other of our trees. I don’t notice the nodules disappear after they show up. And even when the leaf turns in the Fall and drops off the branch, it still has the little nodules on it. Maybe they’re hitchhikers?
      Thanks for asking about that!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. JoHanna Massey
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 09:00:45

    Galls are so interesting. Great choice for ‘seeing dots’. Love the idea of adolescent acne on the oak trees.

    http://www.missouribotanicalgarden.org/gardens-gardening/your-garden/help-for-the-home-gardener/advice-tips-resources/pests-and-problems/other/galls/galls-on-trees.aspx

    Have an excellent day.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 13:01:36

    Thank you, JoHanna! I’ll have to take note when they show up, and watch them. I might take a pic of the leaves when they come out in Spring, and see when the Gall shows up. I noticed it on both our Oaks, though they are on different sides of the yard. Yes, Oak Acne (or leaf acne as I named it) came to mind right away.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 13:03:27

    I’m not sure they actually hurt the tree, except sapping some energy from it. Have you noticed it killing the trees?

    Like

    Reply

  8. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 13:17:26

    I have seen it for several years, and the tree looks pretty much the same. It’s a small oak, smaller leaves. I don’t think it’s killing the tree. It’s actually part of the backyard group that separates our property from the people behind us. There’s all manner of trees there; maples, the oaks, something which I’m not sure of the kind of tree it is, and there’s four or five evergreen in the mix. We had an apple tree, but it fell last year during a storm. Our land used to be part of an orchard.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 13:26:54

    Who knows. Maybe the trees like them. Like they are saying, “acne! This isn’t acne, this is jewelry!”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. badfish
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 03:34:26

    OK…she’s spicing out into photography!!! You go girl! Not sure that qualifies as mundane, though. Pretty weird if you ask me.
    And WAIT. How long have you been using this theme (is it the one you used previously)?

    Like

    Reply

  11. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 10:03:00

    Thank you for the encouragement as I make my way into Lens World. You and Jithin have been my inspirations. I had a couple of previous photos that were probably more mundane; like shadows, and cobwebs, type of things. I think my next pic will be more along the lines of mundane. You’ll have to wait until next week though. 😛

    It’s a new theme. Just put it up. Thought about doing that in January but wasn’t sure what I wanted to use. I don’t think I’m ready yet to get one of those fancy paid themes, but this one looked pretty. Previous to the last one I used Fiore, with the cherry (or was it orange) blossoms. I like that one a lot, but everything on the side bar was hidden.

    Like

    Reply

  12. trablogger
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 06:41:11

    Leaf Acne? That is funny 😉 Nice observation.
    Also the new theme looks nice.

    Like

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Mundane Monday Challenge #47 | PhoTrablogger
  14. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 12:32:15

    Thank you Jithin! I thought it was time for change on the theme front.
    I had something I was going to use for this week’s Mundane Monday, but we ate it, so I have to find another piece of mundane here.
    Yes, the leaf acne seem apropos for how it struck me. lol

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

