Sandbox Writing Challenge #28 – Old Baggage

This new chapter of the Sandbox Writing Challenge seems different. We begin with a picture, posted at Impromptu Promptlings, by Lady Calen, which poses the question: Do you see something of yourself in this little child? If so, what?

Sandbox pic 4 little girl lost

 

What I see in this picture is that the little girl is carrying heavy baggage. I know that is part and parcel of life lived without regard, and years or decades later, the contents of that bag, which has had time to mature and grow, but only in the darkness of the dungeons in which it was stored  has taken on a life of its own; one contrary to what my hopes and dreams were for this lifetime. She is the little cinderella, who has not yet met her faerie guardian mother, but who toils everyday to drag that weight around. Seeing her makes me realize that I am the faerie guardian mother, and I must get off my laurels to free her from the drudgery born of my flesh failures.

THE WEIGHT – The Band

Flesh Failures/Let The Sun Shine In – HAIR

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spiritualdragonfly
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 18:03:27

    Oh Love The Band!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 21:04:21

    YES!!! I have lots of their vinyl still 😀

    Like

    Reply

  3. calensariel
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 10:51:19

    That concept of us being our own fairy godmothers is another epiphany for me. Your thinking and reasoning has become so sharp when it comes to these challenges. I am in awe!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 28 — Can You See Me? | Impromptu Promptlings
  5. Fimnora Westcaw
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 16:04:30

    It must be inspiration that is coming from that higher part of me. It just pops in, but I do supposed that the inspiration actually gets through is part of intuition. I just try to get out of my own way when I’m writing. 🙂

    And your thinking and reasoning is equally sharp. {{{Calen}}}

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Faraday's Candle
    Mar 01, 2016 @ 08:43:26

    There has to be a higher power or reason. That little girl represents much of what ails us!
    Great music like always!!

    Yes, “take a load off”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

