Mundane Monday #49 – A patina

This week’s Mundane Monday Photo, hosted by Pho Trablogger, as always, challenges us to find the beauty in everyday, normal, commonplace things. I dusted off my file cabinet, and pulled out this photo:

IMG_0279

What I liked was the way a close up of one thingย could resemble another.ย  Or is itย just in the eye of the beholder?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 23:14:48

    Cheese? No… Not if it’s sitting on your filing cabinet. So what is it? I LIKE the header!!! Did you find it like that or put the words on yourself?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 10, 2016 @ 14:18:15

      LOL Actually the main focus, for me, when snapping the pic, was the patina of white beneath the cheese… I thought it looked like snow ๐Ÿ™‚

      I found the header, cropped it and put in the text. It was actually a part of a WHOLE background for a site, but I didn’t think that it would work for any of our themes. Still, the header could be used.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 02:15:44

    I thought cheese too, but I figure it’s something else.
    What is it, Fim?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 10, 2016 @ 14:23:09

      My focus was on the patina beneath the cheese. I thought it looked like the kind of snow – sort of a frosting – that we’ve been getting this winter. But it’s not snow.
      The cheese is part of a chachka (sp?) a little mouse on a slice of cheese, and the other thing next to it is the bottom of a mug. I’m going to have to work on how to blur the other parts of my pic to make something the focus. I know there’s a way, but don’t know how to achieve it yet, with our new camera. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Ady
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 13:15:54

    Looks like cheese but… What is it !!!! A child’s toy ? I like the lines, very profound ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 16:20:05

    It is actually a ‘figurine’ but that was not the focus of the pic… or what I was trying to focus on… it was the patina beneath it… the white ‘looks like a frosting of snow’ The two colorful objects are ceramic. The one with the lines is the lower part of a mug. The figurine is a little mouse, sitting on a slice of cheese. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. trablogger
    Mar 13, 2016 @ 08:46:53

    Patina. I had to check its meaning and then i found dust on your file. But cheese looking thing get the lime light! I guess it is a Bakelite or clay container?

    Like

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 13, 2016 @ 14:38:10

    Yes! It was all about the dust! It reminded me of snow when it doesn’t accumulate more than 1/8th of an inch.
    Yes, the cheese part is the bottom of a figurine (a mouse standing on a slice of cheese). The other part next to it is a mug from Maine. Very colorful. But I was going for the dust. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Mundane Monday Challenge #50 | PhoTrablogger

Leave a Reply

