The Sandbox Writing Challenge 31 — Sage Advice

There’s a picture of a young boy over at Impromptu Promptlings, which we’ve been asked by the lovely Lady Calen to use to answer the question:

If you were to tell this boy what you value most in life, what would you say?

My first thought was (and is) that I value Nature; that if not for Nature, I would not be here to write this post. We are all part of Nature, thus all of the important people in my life are of great value to me, and the relationships which ensue from them. Then I thought that more important than simply to value something, is respecting it. I have respect for and value all life.

Still, there are many other things, as well,  that I value, like things which bring joy into my life: love, music, wonderful friends. I value my five senses. With out them, life would take on a different palor. So I also value the ability to adapt to situations; the ability to learn, (knowledge) and being able to appreciate things.

Of course, there are many more things of value – not material, but rather these belong to my inner dwelling.  I tend to see this as an ever evolving part of my life, and is transformative.

This is not the end; it’s the beginning.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 31 — The Most Valuable Advice! | Impromptu Promptlings
  2. calensariel
    Mar 16, 2016 @ 19:12:25

    It’s always the beginning of something, isn’t it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 18, 2016 @ 09:47:42

      We had our handfasting video taped, and the way the guy finished it was with the wedding album closing, with THE END, and then the word end drops off, and the word beginning comes in to take it’s place. That sticks in mind so much and is what prompted that thought 🙂 Like Anne of Green Gables says (paraphrasing) Every day is a new day with no mistakes in it… like every day is a new beginning.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. JoHanna Massey
    Mar 17, 2016 @ 06:47:36

    Yes and Yes Again to every word of this beautiful essay. Thank you for sharing this Fimnora.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Soul Gifts
    Mar 17, 2016 @ 07:16:53

    This is all so resonates with me. I will be contributing my two cents worth tomorrow 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 17, 2016 @ 11:54:42

    I always love it when kids are given Nature, so that it will be in them for the rest of their lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 18, 2016 @ 09:55:51

    I think it’s so very important for children to realize that they are very much a part of Nature, thus part of everything, and that knowing will lead to respecting.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 18, 2016 @ 10:20:29

    Yes. I think one needs to love something and feel part of it before they will respect and protect it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

