The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Stuporstitious

Mr. Quantum offered, “I’m not superstitious, I’m just afraid something bad is going to happen,” when I read The Sandbox Writing Challenge 34 — Superstitious! prompt to him. Lady Calen  wants us to imagine what we would be afraid of happening if we were superstitious, and the cute little black cat in the picture over at Impromptu Promptlings, walked across my path.

QUESTION: If you were superstitious, and this black cat crossed your path, what would you be afraid might happen?

Interestingly when I saw the word superstitious, my mind went to how I will take a deliberate dip in the pool of fears, when I’m afriad of something happening, but to stave of that reality, if I fret over it until I reach my destination, it will not have happened…

Case in point: When I lived in NYC, I had a fear (haven’t a clue why) that the house I lived in might have burned down when I arrived home, which I turned into some weird ritual to make sure that didn’t happen. I’d drive home, fearing what I might find, and breathed a sigh of relief when there were no fire trucks on the block when I arrived home.

SO, if that’s not superstitious behavior, I’m not sure I’m playing in  the right sandbox this week.

When I look at that kitty, I just want to take it home, and snuggle with  it, and hear happy purrs floating up into the air.

I know there are several such things that people are superstitious about, which fit the black cat situation. Things like, not stepping on a crack so you don’t break your mother’s back – Talk about weird. Or, the one about walking under a ladder??? I have no idea other than getting konked on the head by falling equiptment, why anyone would be superstitious there.

Maybe I’d be afriad, with the black cat, that he’d get spooked by my crossing his path, and run out into the street and get hit by a car. See what I’m saying?

Maybe it’s all about the fact that each person’s superstitions don’t fit neatly into some previous version of that malady?

My mind goes to, what’s a superstition anyway? It’s just a fear. Maybe my fear of having a panic attack is superstitious? Or, is a superstition based in bogus thinking; things that really can’t happen, but we believe they can?

Maybe TBC (you know, for the review).

P.S. Just read that part that Lord Drollery offered, and I’m ROTFL.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 34 — Superstitious! | Impromptu Promptlings
  2. calensariel
    Apr 05, 2016 @ 19:59:55

    Great post. I liked the part about the house being on fire because I do the same bloomin’ thing! I have lots of little fears like that. But I’m NOT afraid of black cats. I have TWO of them! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  3. Fimnora Westcaw
    Apr 06, 2016 @ 12:41:55

    It’s a relief to know I’m not the only one who does that with my fears. It’s odd, because it’s like having your fears working for you.

    Like

    Reply

  4. metalflowermaker
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 05:44:34

    Don’t forget the mirror breaking superstition. I fear bleeding from broken shards in the eye. Yeah, horror film style, but I wear glasses, but the fear is still there. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

