A to Z Challenge – GADOLINIUM

Day 7

April 8, 2016

The Magnificent Seven Letter: G

GADOLINIUM

I love the sound of words. Case in point, Gadolinium. Say it, and feel the way it trips off your tongue, or just sounds inside your head. Sure, there are prettier sounding words, in this realm.

But what the heck is it?

I’m sure that most people who have ever taken a chemistry class will have come across it. The Faraday Girls (as I like to think of them) will know. *waving* Hope you’re having a great trip!

Okay back to our word at hand.

Here’s a hint:

Gadolinium_Tile

It’s atomic number is 64. It’s ‘symbol’ is Gd. And it’s atomic mass is 157.25

It is a silvery-white, malleable and ductile rare-earth metal. It is found in nature only in combined (salt) form. Gadolinium was first detected spectroscopically in 1880 by de Marignac, who separated its oxide and is credited with its discovery. It is named for gadolinite, one of the minerals in which it was found, in turn named for chemist Johan Gadolin.

I know, it’s mind boggling.

But wait, it gets better:

Gadolinium metal possesses unusual metallurgic properties, to the extent that as little as 1% gadolinium can significantly improve the workability and resistance to high temperature oxidation of iron, chromium, and related alloys. Gadolinium as a metal or salt has exceptionally high absorption of neutrons and therefore is used for shielding in neutron radiography and in nuclear reactors. Like most rare earths, gadolinium forms trivalent ions which have fluorescent properties. Gadolinium(III) salts have therefore been used as green phosphors in various applications.

Now THAT is heady stuff!

The gadolinium(III) ion occurring in water-soluble salts is quite toxic to mammals. However, chelated gadolinium(III) compounds are far less toxic because they carry gadolinium(III) through the kidneys and out of the body before the free ion can be released into tissue. Because of its paramagnetic properties, solutions of chelated organic gadolinium complexes are used as intravenously administered gadolinium-based MRI contrast agents in medical magnetic resonance imaging.

So, I guess you’re wondering what a nice spritely minx like me would be remotely interested in such a thing.

BRIEF HISTORY OF TIME:

One of the things which I loved about Mr. Quantum, when we were learning stuff about each other, was his passion and love for Science. While his favorite field is Astrophysics, and now, Particle Physics, when we first got hitched, we’d spend hours talking over the intricacies of his love for science. He got me quite interested in the periodic table, and before I knew it, he had me learning all the elements! I found so many of them sounded absolutely wonderful as words.

PRESENT TIME RESUMES

Hence, when today showed up, and G was the word (I probably should have thought of Grease; you know Grease is the word, is the word, is the word). But I didn’t. I thought of the beautiful sound of Gadolinium.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/G

Info: Wikipedia

Photo: sciencenotes.org

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 12:32:02

    Really interesting, and well written with personal stuff mixed in. Funny…Gd. Like God. I have never heard of it. How cool is this planet!?

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. calensariel
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 13:45:43

    Well done! Mr. Q would be proud of you! You sound VERY intellectual and scientific! πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply

  3. Fimnora Westcaw
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 19:09:42

    LOL I even put on my glasses to look the part πŸ™‚ I have these little half reading glasses. πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply

  4. Sabina Ayne
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 19:28:06

    I have never heard of Gadolinium. What a wonder! I like this word better that Grease!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 09, 2016 @ 17:32:26

      Yes, it’s a much better word than Grease. πŸ™‚ It makes me think that it could have showed up in the musical CATS, or something like that. lol
      Thank you for dropping by the Hermitage today! The doors are always open.

      Like

      Reply

  5. kim
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 09:13:24

    Interesting! I’ve never heard of Gadolinium, didn’t pay much attention to chemistry at school, I’m afraid :/ But, I do love the word and you’re right it rolls, very satisfyingly, off the tongue πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 17:30:22

    Before I got married, I had not heard the word, but I did take Chemistry. Where was I when they passed out the Gadolinium? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. JoHanna Massey
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 13:52:02

    This is such an excellent post. Never knew about Gadolinium, and your post is just a wonderful way to get acquainted. 🌡

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

