A to Z Challenge – HOGWARTS

Day 8

April 9, 2016

The Haphazard Letter: H

Hogwarts

What? You thought I wouldn’t let you know what the rest of the rooms in our house were called? Seriously?

Obviously, unless you were born on Mars, you know that Hogwarts is part of a movie franchise which took the world by storm. The Harry Potter series of books, and movies, took place (especially in the early years) at The Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

Hogwarts by night

Hogwarts

Hogwarts by day

Hogwarts by day resize

I am a huge fan of architecture. I love places like the cloisters in New York, the majesty of Machu Picchu, the ancient ruins in Greece, the myriad castles and mansions I’ve visited over the years right here in the Northeast. So when I saw the setting for the Harry Potter movies, I fell in love.

Needless to say, one of our rooms would be dubbed, Hogwarts. That room is our main bathroom. What? You were thinking the living room, perhaps, should have that name? Well, yeah, it sounds good, but it already had its own name. All will be revealed throughout this challenge.

We do have two other bathrooms, and since the letter F already has another word, I’ll let you in on the names. The master bath is called The Fellowship Room. All of those reading who have read or seen The Lord of the Rings, will most definitely know where that comes from. The third bath is named Moria, also from The Lord of the Rings. It is called thus because it’s in the basement. Currently, however, it is more of a storage room than a bath.

Anyway, back to Hogwarts. It picked up its name because of the Harry Potter calendars which were always placed on the door to that room, both in The Shire (our little mobile home where we lived when we came up to New York – also from LOTR), and now, in Serenity (named for the Firefly series).

If you think about it, naming the rooms, especially when there is more than one of a kind, like the bathrooms, saves one the trouble of having to explain to the other that the bathroom where something needed is stored has an actual name. So when I want that something, I simply have to say, “Mr. Quantum, would you please get me another roll of paper towels from Hogwarts” thereby saving Q from asking, “which bathroom?”

Neat, huh?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/H

Hogwarts by Night: Tumblr.com

Hogwarts by Day: Business2Community.com

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 20:01:49

    Seems perfectly natural to me!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 21:29:00

    Yes, neat!
    We have our bathrooms named. I made the tiles, so one is Marine, one Woodland and one Wetland. Haha! We are not only nuts about Nature, we make the inside like outside too.
    The other rooms are the regular boring names, but you have inspired me to name the others.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 10, 2016 @ 11:39:11

      Great idea to make the inside look like the outside. I’ve always wanted to have huge murals on the walls so that there’s woodland, beaches, mountains, desert, and all things Nature on the walls. I love the names you’ve given your baths. Is there a place where the tiles actually spell out the name?

      The house itself is named Serenity. The previous one was The Shire.
      We even named our garage: The Landing Bay. And of course, the car is The Puddle Jumper (keeping with the space theme). 🙂

      I just bought curtains for the master bath, with a garden theme. The kitchen curtains are wine bottles, like in a still life, since our towels have an Italian Vineyard on them.

      I look forward to hearing what you’ve chosen as the names for your other rooms 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
        Apr 10, 2016 @ 12:20:59

        In the marine bathroom, the tiles I made are dolphins, whales, turtles, different fish, different shells, etc. The walls are turquoise and also the floor tiles and i intermingled little stones between the tiles. Bill made a rock wall on one wall and incorporated my tiles, so it looks sort of like a reef. Counter top is my tiles too. In woodland bath, deer, robins, bunnies and hawk tiles, and I made the sink and pressed oak leaves into it, so their impression is there. Wetland bathroom tiles are herons, frogs, beavers, geese, ducks, etc. It was fun to do. Installing them took forever, though, making little schools of fish and stuff. Fun, though. Our land is called Stepping Stone and the house sort of goes with that theme. A contractor framed it and made it sound, and we did all the inside work. It has taken 10 years so far and still working on it!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Apr 10, 2016 @ 12:51:24

          Oh, that sounds delightful! Hogwarts actually does have an ocean theme (my parents did after I got married and moved away). It’s really lovely. We finally got the floor re tiled (due to the “battle of the carpenter ants”). I LOVE the idea of leaf impressions in the sink. How did you do that? or was it part of the construction of the sink itself? I keep hoping that I rediscover my crafty self.
          I also love the idea of having a hand in building.
          We’ve thought about, if we do move back to Texas, of looking into a geodesic dome type house.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

          • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
            Apr 10, 2016 @ 13:44:21

            I had never really worked with clay, you know since 5th grade (still have the little seal I made). A clay place opened up and I learned how to make tiles. The sink, I rolled coils and hand built the sink. Then, after making it smooth so you can’t see the coils, but is still slightly lumpy, I pressed oak leaves into it, took the leaves out and then fired it. It took a long time and a lot of clay. Long drying time before firing. I think you would love this house. People call it the art house. So sorry about the carpenter ants!! I am trying to not let that happen to one room. I have tried so many natural deterrents, but I may have to resort to chemicals. I just hate to hurt the spiders! It’s just along one wall.
            Geodesic domes are cool!! I have always loved them. Also, near Taos (about an hour from here), there are acres and acres of earth ships. Amazing designs! And cob houses are cool. You can make them any shape you want. It’s like sculpting your house! Anyway. You will get inspired to do something fun and crafty.A lot of your creativity goes into writing. You are so good!

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Apr 12, 2016 @ 01:16:52

              I remember in college, I took a class on working with clay, and made a small bowl. It was really cool. I think it would be fun to try to work with clay, and use the wheel (?), though I’m fairly certain I’d end up with most of it on me LOL

              I do love the idea of making tiles, the way you describe. That is such a personal touch, and a labor of love!

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

              • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
                Apr 12, 2016 @ 09:32:20

                Yeah, it was really fun. Most of my tiles are 3d. It is fun playing in the mud! I highly recommend it!

                Like

                Reply

                • Fimnora Westcaw
                  Apr 12, 2016 @ 17:34:32

                  LOL This reminds me of Womencircles. (I love free association). We had one year, a ritual where the process was for each of us to come into the center of the room and tell everyone in what way were stuck. Our hands were immersed in a bowl of mud while we described our sticky dilemma. Then, when we were finished, we said with passion, “enough is enough of this goblin mud!” and pulled our hands from the gloppy mess, and plunged them into another bowl of clear, clean water. That stuck with me (pun not really intended), all these years! I thought it was a great way to work though getting past what was stopping me. Hmmmm…. that makes me think of today’s Sandbox Challenge.

                  Anyway, I think playing in the mud would be fun, actually 🙂

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply

  3. Soul Gifts
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 23:22:21

    Hmmm, food for thought. Although at this stage in life methinks TRH (The Retired Hb) may find it more confusing than having the rooms remain anonymous. That, and he would DEFINITELY think I was bonkers. At the moment he just suspects it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 10, 2016 @ 11:42:00

      No reason to not have fun for yourself. He can just keep calling them by the mundane, if that’s what he wants. Mr. Quantum knows I’m bonkers, but then he is too. LOL We just added another name to our Romn room; Kappa Tau Sigma. Cappie the Sock Monkey is a Frat Monkey all the way, and is going to move in there with his wife and kids 😀 And he just can’t bring himself to graduate college LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Soul Gifts
        Apr 10, 2016 @ 20:33:50

        You’re right of course. Love it ! We have a tribe of little teddy bears in our bedroom. The original was the first thing TRH ever gave me. It was a rescue bear, lol. He found it on the beach. He has been joined a wife and kids over the years.

        Like

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Apr 12, 2016 @ 01:22:07

          Oh cool @ the tribe of bears! I think I heard once that a group of bears is a sleuth. Interesting! I’m glad your first was a rescued bear! We have a big teddy, that was Mr. Quantum’s. We named him Henry. He’s cool.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  4. jabrush1213
    Apr 10, 2016 @ 17:02:03

    Loved reading this post about Hogwarts! A school that was called home by many students in J.K. Rowlings story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. best floor model drill press
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 03:43:40

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and
    visual appeal. I must say that you’ve done a fantastic
    job with this. Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Opera.
    Outstanding Blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 12, 2016 @ 16:46:43

      I know, right!?! I just switched to it recently, and it’s really nice looking and easy to navigate while working on it. And I love being able to put a header, which I had not thought I could do at first. That’s great to know that it loads fast. I agree, as well, from the blogger’s POV, since it took so long for the previous theme I had to load every single time I came to post.
      Thank you SO much for you kind thoughts!

      Like

      Reply

  6. JoHanna Massey
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 13:46:22

    Oh I have been trying to embrace a name for our
    little townhouse. ‘ Bijou’ is the one I am leaning towards. ‘A residence that is small and elegant.’
    Have an excellent week Fimnora. 🌵

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Apr 12, 2016 @ 01:27:41

      Oh, JoHanna, Bijou is a beautiful name! Sometimes our home takes on many names, depending what we’re watching. We just finished GREEK, so the house becomes a Frat house during that time, which we call by our favorite Frat house in the show, Kappa Tau.

      Wishing you a lovely week!

      Like

      Reply

  7. timsbrannan
    Apr 11, 2016 @ 17:13:07

    I love Hogwarts. Not just a great name, but a great place. I would love to have a map of the place to pour over.


    Tim Brannan, The Other Side Blog
    2015 A to Z of Adventure!
    http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

    Like

    Reply

  8. pjlazos
    Apr 12, 2016 @ 15:17:56

    Love this! Although I haven’t named my rooms as of yet I think that it’s a practice I may espouse. Rooms, after all, all have distinct personalities. Why not names, too?

    Like

    Reply

  9. Fimnora Westcaw
    Apr 12, 2016 @ 16:53:35

    Hi Tim! Welcome to Quantum Hermitage 🙂 Yes, Marauders’ Map was such a fantastic idea! And the closing with the words, “Mischief managed,” was brilliant!
    Thank you so much for stopping by!
    I love your blog’s name: The Other Side. I actually wrote a story back in the 80s with a café named that 🙂

    Fim

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

