The Sandbox Writing Challenge #37 – The Importance of Something

The Lady Calen, at Impromptu Promptlings gave us a rather challenging question this week. I puzzled over it all week, and planned all manner of investigations. But I got lost in that quest.

old man

 

The challenge was for me to imagine the man in this picture telling me something important; something I need to hear. What is he saying?

First, I decided I wanted to find another Elder to talk to. Sorry, that man didn’t speak to me.

 

 

 

 

I walked for a while, through the faces I’d seen, and come to know over

time, wondering which one spoke to me the most. Many did, but there was

one who I just knew I had to go and sit down with:

elder-fire She was a formidable woman and in that moment when she became a still life, I saw so much in her which held an important message for me.

I’ll call her La curandera. It’s really a title. It means ‘Healer.’

I recall the first moment I met her. There was an exercise in which we would meet the Courts, and they were all spread out, and when our eyes met, there was a sense that she knew everything there was to know about me.

There are times when I meet people with whom I feel intimidated. But something happens after that meeting, and I find that I somehow manage to get noticed, and become essential.

So it was with La Curandera. In some way I actually ‘turned and faced my fear,’ with Her. It is the challenges which I struggled hardest against that have the greatest teachings for me. I feel that somehow I’ve been taken under her wing, and now I must find out what that important something is She wishes to convey to me.

Reading with Elder of Fire: What important information does Elder of Fire have for me?

Sometimes, the reading simply guides me to pay attention to things. And so it was this very evening that what she had for me was simply:

“Like the Quest you are on. You know that search?  That’s the fun. The more lost you are, the more you have to look forward to.”

It made me think, I’m having a great time, and I don’t even know it.

Hmmm…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 37 — Something Important | Impromptu Promptlings
  2. calensariel
    May 03, 2016 @ 00:20:31

    😀 Reminds me of a quote by the French novelist Colette who wrote “Gigi.” She said, “What an interesting life I had. And I wish I had realized it sooner!” Well, Fim, now you know! What’re you going to do with that wisdom? 😀

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 03, 2016 @ 12:43:52

      Well, I hope I’ll begin to enjoy the moments, rather than seek to move away from them. I do like adventure, so it shouldn’t be difficult for me to wake up and smell the flowers of Journeying.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Soul Gifts
    May 03, 2016 @ 03:56:08

    Nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Faraday's Candle
    May 03, 2016 @ 19:59:41

    “Curandera”, just the name conveys mystical healing.
    The science of it

    Like

    Reply

  5. Fimnora Westcaw
    May 04, 2016 @ 13:48:22

    Yes, it does sound mystical! I love this card now, after several years of trying to not be intimidated by her.
    It is interesting that you speak of ‘the science of it,’ with regard to the idea of the card. I would love to know what the ‘science of it’ looks like for you. I’m always trying to look at things from many perspectives, and it helps to know how others define things; how ideas look.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    May 04, 2016 @ 21:42:50

    You are having a good time and don’t even know it. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  7. badfish
    May 05, 2016 @ 07:10:26

    I think I was married to the Elder of Fire once. It didn’t work out as well for me as it did for you! But as for that guy in the first photo…he speaks to me. But I can see why he might not speak to you, or why you might not want to listen. I believe he might like a new personal shopper. The hat, that coat, those socks…they all have to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 05, 2016 @ 14:32:43

      Ah, there in lies the difference. I wasn’t married to her, just seeking to learn from her, maybe trying to grow up to be like her.
      LOL @ a make over for the old dude. So what does he say when he speaks to you?

      Like

      Reply

  8. theworldaccording2ellah
    May 05, 2016 @ 13:02:31

    I like this. Somehow, when I reckon I must surely have seen it all, yet another new thing turns up! Such as this post.
    Me, I consider myself as lost as lost can be, and have always done so, since i understood that phrase.
    NOW…..Hey, I am the most fortunate woman alive, when I hear the words of ‘the elder of fire’!
    In my signature poem, written some years ago, I am the ‘Angel of Change’ who got ‘caught in the fire’. I am just sharing that so that you know how relevant I find that this post is to me.
    Thankyou for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

