The Sandbox Writing Challenge #38 – Something Wonderful

This week the feature presentation at The Sandbox Writing Challenge 38, “Something Wonderful” is showing. The magical land of Impromptu Promptlings brings about a ‘Mystery Tour,’ which Lady Calen has invited us all to discover within this lovely house:

Something Wonderful

Imagine something wonderful happening to you in this house.
What is it?

This is a family show, so I can’t go where my mind just did and use it for a post. So let me look at this house. It’s nice. Stately, even.  So what wonderful thing can I imagine would happen here? My mind began to go in this direction:

Inside, in a party dress – perhaps – is Little Girl Lost.

child-water

I figure since she was banished from living life with me, perhaps I can create that alternate life – remember the Korvettes incident?  What if I didn’t hate being inside me? How would that be?

~~~  ~~~  ~~~

CLOSE YOUR EYES AND LISTEN FOR BIT

Listen. There’s a vague sense of music off in the distance. It seems to be coming from that house. It sort of calls to one, beckons. Do others hear it? The flowers that cover the lawn in the front garden have a gentle scent of something sweet and delicious.

The day cloaks the world in a lovely warmth, and walking by the front walk, it’s hard not to slow, and turn in, instead of continuing, beyond. Slowly almost tip-toeing up the path which ends at a door, the music throws sparkles out into the yard, and now there’s a feeling, like a yearning to knock. Something wonderful is inside. Irresistible it is, to not reach up to rap on the painted wooden doormer. Even before knuckles touch the panels, the latch releases and the door swings ever so slightly ajar. It’s curiosity which allows one to lean in and peek around the other side to look and see. Breath catching, it is nothing like imagined when looking in from without.

While it’s not in words, the invitation to enter is felt. At first, tentatively pushing, a nudge sets the door swinging ever so slightly more open. Must step inside.

It is indescribable!

Emerland Tree House

The music is swirling around, and it is happy making.


Look at the tree, each lantern begins to glow with the soft light of flickering candles within them. A small winged sprite floats up from the forested floor, and dances across from left to right, sparks flying, like fireflies, and I watch as they spellout a word:

Something Wonderful Welcome

Stepping further inside, the door closes from behind, the walls shimmer, then disappear. The sweeter scent of summer flowers caress and tickle my nose. Giggling I walk to the small wee door in the trunk of the tree. There, a sign reads: Lost is Found. This means something wonderful. In thought about this, I see a white flutterby, flitting here and there and follow it along an earthen path. I see my hands are small, little girl hands, and then notice my feet are likewise, those of a very much younger self.

Lost is found enters my mind, and its meaning becomes clear. This is then. Feeling tickled, running and skipping carries me forward into what is now. There is no then, nor a future written in stone. This is the moment of returning and playing and dancing the life that awaits.

Something Wonderful unfolds… Little Girl Lost is Found!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Faraday's Candle
    May 06, 2016 @ 07:50:07

    I closed my eyes and listened for too long.
    Beautiful music 🎶

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 06, 2016 @ 12:57:10

      There’s never too long when listening to music 🙂 That was from a game I own, which goes with the picture of the tree. It’s the opening music and is so delightful, I put it on repeat. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. calensariel
    May 06, 2016 @ 09:36:53

    “Little Girl Lost is Found!” That is truly magical!!! What an awesome post! And my Lord! You really DO think in music, don’t you! I loved both of those pieces. Well done! Was truly a magic post! 😀

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 06, 2016 @ 13:01:53

      It took me a while to figure out the something wonderful. But then I remembered that I had work to do in the realm of “little girl lost” and suddenly it began evolving. I thought, why does there have to be a house inside? Why not a land of wonder? It was the perfect way to begin. Now the real work comes in, on how to integrate. But thank you for this Kodak moment, and for giving a way to take those first steps! {{{Calen}}}

      Like

      Reply

  3. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 38 — Something Wonderful | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    May 06, 2016 @ 13:51:38

    I love this, Fim. “This is the moment of returning and playing and dancing the life that awaits.” Yes!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Fimnora Westcaw
    May 06, 2016 @ 18:13:29

    Thank you, Mary! This is a major area of mine which needs work, and this prompt got me to get to a point where I could possibly begin. Now I have to make a plan. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

