The Sandbox Writing Challenge – Review Then Loosen Up

5/10/16

The Sandbox Writing Challenge Review #3 & Part 4 Loosening Up Exercises is happening over at Impromptu Promptlings, and Lady Calen reminded up that there are eleven posts to review.

Start with February 23 post:

Take time now to go and look over the exercises you’ve done then answer

these questions:

1. Did any of your answers surprise you? Why?

I didn’t even have to review to know that the last one, “Something Wonderful” surprised me. It was totally unexpected when I thought about what to write. I had been planning to do this excavation for well over a year, and it seems that I have been doing it, even when I’m not aware of the process.

2.  Is there any exercise that felt more charged than others?

If you’d like, carry on with that post and share your additions with us. *wonders what is meant by charged?*

When I re-read them this week, I found quite many which stirred up my emotions. It’s quite different when writing and reading. The West Side Story post, for instance, transported me back to when I first discovered the wonders of that musical. The Vampires always get my blood stirred up. The Long Riders’ post about The Younger Brothers and the James Gang, brings up my love of the story, and the admiration of the brilliant idea of making the story in the way they did. What makes life magical… How could it NOT be just as magical given the topic. I sense that most of this round has born with it an endless joy ride.

3.  Were there any exercises that felt incomplete to you?

I believe there were at least two where I suggested a continuation would likely happen. As then, so it remains TBC…

4.  What insights about yourself (if any) came to light in these last 11 exercises? 

I think the greatest insight is that there really IS work going on inside this Sandbox. Sometimes it’s hard to see it when in the process. But the traces are like the bread crumbs left to remind me that I’ve come a long way, baby.

Loosening Up Exercises

What feelings describe you?

1.   Happy
2.   Scared
3.   Enthusiastic
4.   low self-esteem (is that emotion?)
5.   Optomistic
6.   wistful
7.   Brave

What habits describe you?

1.   Eager to Begin
2.   Lazy to finish
3.   Disaster Thinking
4.   Yearning
5.   Analytical
6.   Feeling I can’t but doing it anyway
7.   Stubborn
What beliefs describe you?

1.   Music is the Medicine in my Soul
2.   ALL life is precious
3.   Nature is the Essence of Everything
4.   We are the architects of our own annihilation
5.   What I have to decide is what to do with the time given me
6.   No matter where I go, there I am
7.   I could do anything if I only knew what it was

`

What else describes you?

1.   Lover
2.   Pleasure Seeker
3.   Caretaker
4.   Responsible
5.   Compassionate
6.   Philosophical
7.   Loyal

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. badfish
    May 13, 2016 @ 23:22:17

    I don’t think I know that much about myself…I usually have to ask someone else who I am…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge Review #3 & Part 4 Loosening Up Exercises | Impromptu Promptlings
  3. calensariel
    May 14, 2016 @ 00:28:13

    Yep, that sounds just like my Fim!!! I think you nailed it, girlfriend.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Soul Gifts
    May 14, 2016 @ 06:45:10

    I loved Ron Moody’s take on the villain in Oliver 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

