The Monday Music Medicine Show – Old, New, Borrowed and Blue

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO2

Welcome to the Monday Music Medicine Show!

I love when I find new artists. What makes some of them particularly special is when they sing a song better than when I heard that song originally done by another artist a long time ago.  This is something which is difficult for most newer artists to do, who feel they want to make an older song their own. I’m a purist, in that way. Usually nobody can do it better than the original artist. But today’s first offering is the exception. In the second tune, the singer and the song are both new to me.

Eric Bibb – Wayfaring Stranger

Diana Krall – Wide River To Cross

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, if it pleases you to play, share with us: 1) What songs you’ve known from earlier days that have been brought back to you through another artist, which you find you like better than the earlier version?

2) What new singer’s voice has made you sit up and take notice so that you just had to get their music on your playlist?

Don’t sweat if nothing comes to mind. Just throw something into the ring. You know I want to hear it! Share it there (your own blog with a ping back), or share it here.

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    May 24, 2016 @ 16:15:48

    I’ve always loved Wayfaring Stranger. Our choir in junior high actually recorded it on a city-wide school album. I’ afraid I’m stuck on this one. I’m so out of the loop since 1974 or so. I’ll keep thinking though!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Fimnora Westcaw
    May 24, 2016 @ 17:19:53

    New songs don’t have to be from today, but new songs from music when you were listening most, and suddenly you hear one of the tunes by a new artist, or another. No worries.

    So who’s your fave artist who does “Wayfaring Stranger?”

    Like

    Reply

  3. badfish
    May 26, 2016 @ 02:15:43

    The first one, Wayfaring Stranger (that should have been the name of my blog!), is not playable?? But I like the second one. Nice voice, nice guitar. Sad. I guess we all have a wide river to cross at some time.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cathy Kennedy
    May 30, 2016 @ 11:21:52

    Fimnora, I grew up in rural West Viriginia. Wayfair Stranger was a popular song sung at funerals or even from the pulpit by grandparents & parents (they sung together often). So, this song holds a special place in my heart. Diana Krall always does her song choices beautifully. Wide River to Cross is a fine example of it. I love your music medicine!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Fimnora Westcaw
    May 30, 2016 @ 16:29:04

    Greetings Cathy! *happy dancing* that you’ve enjoyed The Monday Music Medicine Show! I want to look for more of Diana Krall’s songs! I really love her voice.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

