The Sandbox Writing Challenge #40 – Tally The Votes

Over at Impromptu Promptlings, Lady Calen has brought back memories with The Sandbox Writing Challenge #40 — Survivor

SurvivorSig

What makes you a survivor?

This one seems almost too easy.

My first thought was, I’m still here, aren’t I?
My second thought was that no matter how scared I am, or how difficult it is, I keep on going, and manage to (bungle my way) get through.

But I suspect that they want to know what resources do I tap into that help me over the hard spots.

Of course, there’s fear of dying, which pushes me to do what it takes to stay alive. It could be thought of, I suppose, as a survival instinct. It’s not thought out, and often I just don’t think it will work out in the end. But some how it does.

Then there’s my stubbornness. That has carried me through many really difficult moments.

I’m not sure what part of me these abilities come from. If that is the point, I’m still searching for the answers. This would definitely be in the next review as TBC.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
    May 26, 2016 @ 16:52:41

    This is an interesting question. I understand your logic; by virtue of definition, one is a survivor de facto. Your reply is interesting as well and it’s neat how you include stubbornness as a contributing factor to your survivorship. Let’s see what else you come up with…TBC 🙂 I always liked the word ‘grit’ and ‘mettle.’ Oh, and there’s grace. Wow, Grace. I see all of that here. Merry, merry meet and meet again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 27, 2016 @ 12:11:15

      I figure when ever someone survives something whether it’s some major big challenge, or as simple as getting through one day which has a ton of little challenges, they’re a survivor. We survived birth, our childhoods, teen years, college years, marriage, and kids (or in my case) just getting through menopause. It makes us card carrying survivors. 🙂 And stubbornness is likely a major ingredient in how, and why we survive it all.

      The review is weeks away, but I think I’ll come up with more ways and reasons why I have survived. I like the show’s banner I posted at top: ‘outwit, outlast, and outplay,’ which I think also teaches us how to survive.

      Thank you for you encouraging words, Ka!

      Hugs and Blessings!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

  2. calensariel
    May 26, 2016 @ 18:00:53

    Well that all sound perfectly reasonable to me. I know part of my answer is that I’m just plain bullheaded! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge #40 — Survivor | Impromptu Promptlings
  4. spiritualdragonfly
    May 26, 2016 @ 19:54:57

    Yep…we are still here 👊👊👊 BAM BAM BAM!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Cathy Kennedy
    May 30, 2016 @ 12:50:15

    Fimnora, just keep on keeping on each day makes us all survivors, don’t you agree? Life can throw hard balls at ya and not tossing in the towel to call it quits takes a lot of guts. I think most people are survivors. Of course, we know there are some who tend to gravitate toward giving up and I think…”those poor souls have no idea what a profound impact losing them will be.” That’s really quite sad. I’m glad you’re a survivor and I pray for those who just can’t seem to turn their survivor instincts on.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Fimnora Westcaw
    May 30, 2016 @ 16:25:06

    Yes, Cathy, simply getting up and living each day is surviving. I totally agree! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

