The Monday Music Medicine Show – Ch Ch Ch CHANGES

The Monday Music Medicine Show LOGO2

Welcome to the Monday Music Medicine Show!

I had a thought (*hears Q’s retort: “You’ve had a thought?”*). Thinking about what direction to take The Monday Music Medicine Show, it occurred to me that, once upon a time, radio stations used to have a ‘dedication’ aspect to their format.

It would let other bloggers know you are thinking about them, and give you a chance to dedicate a song to them and let them know.

I’ll start things off: My best bud here is The Lady Calen over at Impromptu Promptlings , and I dedicate this song to her:

 

You get a chance not only to let someone know you’re glad you’ve met them here in our cozy little BlogVerse,  but you can let others have a chance to meet new people. Pay It Forward, so to speak.

So my beautiful Monday Music Medicine Show friends, if it pleases you to play, share with us: A blogging colleague you want to let know how much you appreciate them in your blogging life. How much they lift you up.

Here’s the HOW TO of it all. Create a blog post for this Dedication, with a ping back to them, and to The Monday Music Medicine Show. You know I want to hear it!

To all the wonderful folks who have made The Monday Music Medicine Show a feel good part of the first day of our week, my dedication to all of you:

 

BYOM and  remember: It Don’t Mean A Thing If You Don’t Send That PING!

Music is the Medicine in my Soul and I hope yours is as healing and nurturing as mine!

Singing Smiley

 

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. XmasDolly
    May 30, 2016 @ 22:27:03

    Hi there, I’m over at Monday’s Music Moves Me. Had mine going for 6 yrs. next month. I love music… how would you like to join our little music train. Would love to have you. Let me know xmasdolly at comcast dot net. Love all the tunes you’ve picked for today. Thanks for sharing. hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 31, 2016 @ 22:48:38

      Hello Dolly! I’ve always wanted to say that 🙂 Thank you for stopping by The Monday Music Medicine Show. I will definitely have to head over and look at your site and learn more about the ‘music train.’ Thank you for the invite! Hugs

      Fim

      Like

      Reply

  2. calensariel
    May 31, 2016 @ 00:49:26

    Why Fimnora Westcaw! Thank you very much for the dedication! I appreciate it so much! 😀

    Little confused, though, Fim dearie. Could you make the directions a little more blonde for me? And also, if this is an on-going thing, how’s that going to work?

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 31, 2016 @ 23:18:17

      I think I manage a more concise ‘how to’ down at the bottom, in answer to Safar’s comment! We’ll talk about how to Thursday!

      Glad you like the idea and change in MMMS 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. badfish
    May 31, 2016 @ 02:24:24

    GAWD! I forgot how much I loved that song, and what it meant to me at the time, and to the world, and Africa. Who was the conductor? Who was the lady with long blonde hair (not Kim Carnes?). Kenny Rogers was there but not Rod Stewart…what’s up with that? Cool idea for a post, woman.

    Like

    Reply

    • spiritualdragonfly
      May 31, 2016 @ 14:03:24

      I believe Quincy Jones is the conductor?!?!

      Love this song Fim,,,and your direction with MMMS!!!

      Like

      Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 31, 2016 @ 22:43:58

      It was, indeed, a truly great gathering of singers who presented an amazing gift of song to the world. If the blonde (not Kim Carnes) you’re asking about is the one who sings right after Kim, it’s Cyndi Lauper.

      On the why not Rod Stewart, I believe the majority, if not all the singers were Americans. The Band Aid effort had a group of British artists. Otherwise, I don’t know why Rod wouldn’t be there.

      And yes, as Linda said, the conductor was Quincy Jones.

      I’m glad you like the new direction of The Monday Music Medicine Show!
      I remember, I sort of dedicated a song to you back once during a response to one of your posts way back when. I’m thinking that might be the one I’d dedicate to you again, but there are so many which might come to mind.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish
        Jun 02, 2016 @ 01:44:40

        So is that Kim Carnes or not? The one I was asking about was the blonde before Cindy Lauper…who doesn’t recognize her?
        Ah yes…all American.
        Was that Janet Jackson with the headband?
        If you dedicate another one to me, make sure I know you did…because I can’t get to all posts!! I’m a slow reader, and sometimes have no time. When I have time, I post and comment at that time, then it’s back in the hole.

        Like

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Jun 03, 2016 @ 00:53:57

          Yes, it was Kim Carnes… I didn’t get that you asking if it was her. Sorry.
          The woman in the headband is Janet’s sister LaToya.

          I’ll definitely let you know when I dedicate a song to you. In the new format, I’d link to your site, anyway, so you’ll get one of those approvals emails, I think. 🙂

          Like

          Reply

          • badfish
            Jun 09, 2016 @ 05:50:00

            Kim…yes. And LaToya…what is she doing these days, I wonder? Stay cool!

            Like

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Jun 13, 2016 @ 13:06:54

              I googled LaToya, and last I saw she was taking exception to her sister Janet’s ‘oops’ moment (during a superbowl, or some such event) being left out of some group of ‘oops moments’ on video. *shrug* The year before she broke her engagement to her partner, but still is hanging around with him.

              No problem being cool here… we get promises of 80s and end up in the 60s, and are still dropping down to the 40s nights. where is summer, I ask?

              Like

              Reply

  4. Safar Fiertze
    May 31, 2016 @ 10:56:03

    It must be the grey overshadowing the brunette – but I need blonde directions too! I agree with Fish – cool idea. Had fun trying to identify all the artists, but drew a blank when hoping to answer his question.

    Like

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 31, 2016 @ 23:10:42

      No problem, Safar, and Calen… Remember those radio programs from way back when, which had a dedication line? The way this would work is write a post dedicating the song to blogger who inspires you, with a link to their site, and also a link to The Monday Music Medicine Show.

      In my own post, above, I dedicated a song to Calensariel, of Impromptu Promptlings. It would work just like that. Let me know if you need more clarification. I tend to go the scenic route to explanations sometimes. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Safar Fiertze
        Jun 01, 2016 @ 05:15:02

        Got it – except, I’m assuming that the link is to this post and not some other MMMS? (I know it’s Wednesday – I may just make it for next Monday!)

        Like

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Jun 02, 2016 @ 15:58:25

          Ah, good question, Safar. I hadn’t thought that far. But I think I meant for the link to go to the specific MMMS weekly post, and of course to the person to whom the dedication goes out. Oh, and no worries about time. The MMMS usually runs from Monday to Sunday, and then it starts all over again. So if you want to post it Tomorrow, or Saturday, or any day during that week, that’s cool!

          Like

          Reply

  5. Trackback: Monday Music Medicine Show — Dedication? | Impromptu Promptlings
  6. Trackback: The Fiji Quartet | A Thousand Finds
  7. Arlee Bird
    Jun 03, 2016 @ 10:01:58

    Yes, I remember those radio song dedications. It was a cool way to let someone else know that you were thinking about them, but these days I don’t know if all that many people listen closely enough to the radio to hear dedications if they were on. Back in the 90’s a female I knew then dedicated a song to me on a local oldies station. She had to tell me to listen because I normally didn’t listen to that station. I thought it was kind of sweet though.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Cathy Kennedy
    Jun 08, 2016 @ 12:54:31

    Fimnora, what a grand idea! I think this would be a wonderful way to show blog friends one’s appreciation. I remember hearing song dedications on the airwaves years ago. You just don’t hear that too much anymore. It seems DH did that for me when we were dating, but that’s been almost 40-years ago and I’m not sure if I’m remembering correctly or not now. lol Thanks for popping over!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jun 13, 2016 @ 12:45:36

      Greetings Cathy! I’m not sure when the last time was that I heard a dedication on the radio. Though the only time I listen (or did, since now we can plug our MP3 into our car and listen), to radio is in the car. Once was, it was radio that woke me up in the morning, and radio that lulled me to sleep at night. I think there is one oldies station we found when we moved up here, and they may actually still have dedications. Will have to listen for a while and see.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

