The Sandbox Writing Challenge #29 – It’s A Kind Of Magic

This week hands us the keys to the Magical Mystery Tour Bus over in The Sandbox Writing Challenge 29, hosted by Impromptu Promptlings, where Lady Calen asks the question:

What Makes Life Magical?

Well, that’s not hard to figure out. Okay, so I did have to think about it; not so much the what but the how to put it.  See, writing is one of the magical aspects of living. Creativity is magical, when you see what comes out of it.

For instance, I have been taking part in an ‘art challenge’ for like ever… that would be for the last several years actually, but before that, I’d been in other places (chat places) where I’d spend my time painting avatars for people, in a paint shop. That was not just fun, but a very magical process.

aprilshowers

This is one of the more recent paints I did, from last year.

More magical is being adopted by beautiful fur people:

 

And OMGOSH, music! It’s definitely medicine for my Soul.
It’s a kind of Magic:

A drop in the bucket of the magic of music:

 

The Magic of Life:

Being part of this amazing world of Nature, reigns supreme in the halls of Magic. You can’t beat a day spent out in the embrace of The Mother for magic.

And being touched by the words and passions of people in places, just like this – how magical is it that we can be touched by people from all around the world, on one little screen?

Magical contact

And the mostest magic for me is my family

There’s Mr. Quantum – who has made life magic for me for 19 years, thus far. We’re looking at, at least 50 more years of magical togetherness, which would make us *counting on fingers* 116 and 118 respectively, and that is just THIS life time. All of our lifetimes together I’m sure have been equally magical.

QuantumHermit Tan An

Then there’s Cappie, the sock monkey, who turns three this year, and has made life as much fun as a… well, as a barrel of monkeys LOL Have you ever watched tv with a sock monkey. Let me tell you, there’s big magic in that experience. He absolutely keeps us ROTFL!

cappy 1

This is the magical movie where I first realized I just HAD to have a sock monkey in my life:

Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium: THE WONDER OF MOVIES

Of course, the magic of movies and television, especially coming from the time before the magic of in home movie theaters. I remember, back in the 70s when I’d wish I could have a personal movie theater. Of course, then I imagined a big elegant theater, just like the:

Lowes interior color
Valencia interior color

But obviously that was bigger than my house. I couldn’t imagine how that would happen. One day, however, back in the 1980s, I met a young man, and he had a machine. I was called a video cassette recorder! My dream of having a movie theater had come true.

I’m sure this is just the tip of the iceberg of what makes life magical.

I leave you with a To Be Continued, as the next question deserves a post all its own.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 05, 2016 @ 18:52:24

    What a very magical post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 05, 2016 @ 21:46:50

      Thank you, Mary! And the magical part about writing this was the process of putting it altogether! Looking for the music, and I even tried to make another little movie for two songs I wanted to include, but found I was on the wrong machine. lol Even that had a funny magic to it 🙂

      Hugs and blessings,
      Fim

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Mar 05, 2016 @ 22:52:18

    It’s fun to find magic even when it doesn’t seem like it’s there.
    I was thinking about your spider today. I wonder if she will come back. That was a fun video to see, that one you did of her weaving with you and Mr. Q.
    Hugs and Blessings to you too Fim,
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 05, 2016 @ 23:39:25

      We have wondered the same about her. She came in August, on the 1st, and stayed until August 17. There might have been too much ‘traffic’ for her. She always settled over our recycle bin, using it for an anchor.

      During the latter part of the year, I had a spider living in my bathroom. She was a ceiling dweller. I enjoyed visiting with her during the days, and I was very lucky to be privy to her birthing a spiderling, and watched daily as she taught her the ‘ropes’ of web weaving, and how to do all things that would help her in life. I wasn’t able to get a good video of her as she was just a bit too high, and when I zoomed in, the slightest movement had the picture moving all over the place.

      I’m looking forward to the warm weather; adventures in communing with the Green Ones and brother and sister beings once again!

      Bright Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
        Mar 06, 2016 @ 11:20:41

        Wow, interesting she only had one baby. It’s funny you used the words “privy to” and it was in the bathroom! 🙂 I had a ceiling spider who had many babies and once when I was vacuuming, she ran over all the way across the length of the ceiling, and streched herself over her babies. Not that I would have sucked them up, but wow. She would have sacrificed herself for them.

        Like

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 06, 2016 @ 13:05:04

          OMGoodness, Q must be influencing me with his constant punning LOL I had not even thought about it being such a play on words. 😀
          We’re in the master bedroom, and I remember my mom pointed out, when my parents were living here, that she had a ceiling dweller, who travelled between the master bath and the bedroom. It makes me wonder if it was an ancestor of the one who was here now. That would be cool. I’ve tried to identify what kind she is, but she’s too high up (for me, being such short stuff) and my eyes aren’t as good as they used to be. I tried taking a pic, but on zoom, it wouldn’t stand still enough for me to get a good shot. All she had was the one baby. She’s not in the bath or bedroom any longer, and I haven’t spotter her else where in the upstairs. Though I’m fairly certain I’ll have at least one new spider come summer.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  3. calensariel
    Mar 05, 2016 @ 23:55:27

    Oh my gosh! SO much magic in that music! That is definitely your strongest medicine, Fim, dear!

    (My favorite Queen piece!)
    highlander tv series theme song

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The Sandbox Writing Challenge 29 — Pure Magic! | Impromptu Promptlings
  5. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 00:49:53

    Terriers test

    Like

    Reply

  6. calensariel
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 01:06:10

    Reply

  7. Soul Gifts
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 07:33:44

    Life is full of magic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. spiritualdragonfly
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 18:27:09

    Pure magic..love your painting! The music 👊 bam!! And Mr. Magoriums..I want to,go,there..magical movie!! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. badfish
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 22:21:06

    Magic. Hmmm. What can a badfish say about magic to a Fim Noir?
    I didn’t realize you were an artist, I mean, like a real artist with paints and stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 08, 2016 @ 12:49:38

      Oh, my dear Badfish, you speak with magic every time you write. And your comments are magic as well. There’s something extraordinary in this world where we can stand briefly in another’s shoes because they have given us a bird’s eye view of their world, but it doesn’t stop there because the places like the Badfish and Chips Café are an oasis for us to get comfy and keep on sharing thoughts. The world is an oyster, and we are the pearls nestled inside, whispering thoughts back and forth with all who visit.

      Sorry to burst that bubble you just created, but my paints are made here in virtual reality with Paint Shop Pro. Oh that I could take a brush to canvas… Still, creating is creating and its is always fun to see what comes of it.

      Like

      Reply

      • badfish
        Mar 09, 2016 @ 23:22:46

        I know. My fingers just ooze magic. I can’t help it. But if the world is an oyster, then it was the sand from your sandbox that creates all the pearls, you know!!! A pearl is a simply a beautiful thing created from gunk and gunk and gunk covering gunk…like life everywhere. Here’s a toast to gunk. And pearls. Le Kime (I can’t pronounce that word correctly)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 10, 2016 @ 13:47:52

          Here’s to gunk!
          Does Kime have to do with the karate slap? Or are we talking something else? What language? I thought possibly French when I first saw it, but the translator just gave me “the kime” which basically didn’t tell me anything. If it’s Japanese, it would be likely pronounced KEEMAA (long vowel sound). I started learning to speak and write Japanese about 20 years ago, but my grasp of it didn’t last.

          Like

          Reply

          • badfish
            Mar 11, 2016 @ 23:36:17

            it’s what you say when you toast in your dang tribe, but with my accent!!! Long “i”as in eye….

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

            • Fimnora Westcaw
              Mar 12, 2016 @ 11:45:08

              Your accent. Now I’m curious what that sounds like. What kind of accent do you have? For instance, having been back in New York, I got my accent back… So when I talk, it sounds like I’m saying the York part without the r sound. When I’m in Texas, words sound different, after a while. That part about ‘my grandpappy’ is totally Texas.
              I think it would be cool if everybody we know made a sound bite so we could hear them. We tried to do that in Gateworld, but some people chickened out. I have a word for that behavior which I won’t use here LOL

              Like

              Reply

              • badfish
                Mar 16, 2016 @ 01:57:29

                No my accent in YOUR tribal language!! I have a sort of Canadian/east coast/west coast/Mexican accent. But I’d like to cultivate an Australian accent.

                Like

                Reply

                • Fimnora Westcaw
                  Mar 16, 2016 @ 13:29:32

                  OH! DUH… my tribal accent is NEW YORKese but the Le Chiam said with the proper sound one makes when pronouncing the CH flowing into the word sounding like HIGH and EM.
                  Now about cultivating an Australian accent… let me know when you do and send me a sound byte. I LOVE the sound of such accents – including other English speaking pronunciations from places like Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and England and also from New Zealand.
                  Somewhere back in my archives, is my own voice, but I don’t detect an accent in there. Or maybe it’s just that listening to ourselves, we don’t hear it.

                  Like

                  Reply

                  • badfish
                    Mar 17, 2016 @ 05:52:10

                    Most of the radio announcers here are from some Brit nation. So I get my share of listening to them. I like the Scots best I think. They sound like they have a mouth full of marbles. But the Aussies are just cool…like Crocodile Dundee.

                    Liked by 1 person

  10. Faraday's Candle
    Mar 08, 2016 @ 09:25:02

    What a great place to come and hang out!!

    The new header is just fantastic!

    Like

    Reply

  11. Fimnora Westcaw
    Mar 08, 2016 @ 13:02:29

    Thank you so much *happy dancing* I was having a chat with Calen and we were talking about themes. Back when I began my blogging journey, last year, I’d considered going from renting to owning, IF I lasted for the year. When January came, I wanted to change then, but too much was going on in life outside of Blog World. So while we were talking, we were perusing themes, and I saw this homestead, remembering I’d considered it last year too. It was the change I needed. It wasn’t until yesterday, however, that I realized I could have a header pic in this theme. I wanted to reflect the coming of Spring! I’m very encouraged by the spring singing I hear in the birds as dawn comes a calling.

    Hmmm. It just occurred to me, the birds still sing at the same time, only it appears to be earlier in the wee hours of the morning once DST comes along, which is this coming weekend – EEK! – but they know the real time. How lovely to be unshackled by time in that way. *wishing and hoping for some of that*

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

