A Buffalo, A Lamb, and A Mouse Walk Into A Bar

Story A Day: May 18 – Limits: Third Person, Omniscient


Fluffy looked around. This wasn’t THE island. “Ms Mouse, is this our island?” she asked.

“Well, I think it is. Why else would we be here?” Still, Ms Mouse did look to each side and at the edge of the island they thought was “their” island. “Now that you mention it, Fluffy, I don’t think this looks at all like our island.”

“Hee hee.” Both Fluffy and Ms Mouse heard the deep, annoying laugh of Tonk. “Stupid lamb. Stupid mouse.”

“What?” Fluffy hollered. “Who’re you calling stupid, you dumb buffalo!” Geez, he could be a pain.

“You two. Don’t even know we moved.” Of all the kitchen guardians I been stuck with, these two take the cake.

“Hey!” Ms. Mouse exclaimed. But, now that I think of it. If I don’t recognize this place, then maybe he’s right. Oh, that’s pretty bad when Tonk was right. “Fluff? Did we move, like he said?”

“Oh, that’s right! We were in the other house just last night. I remember being able to see that old grump just across the way, on the sink. But now I don’t see a sink.” I wonder if I’m sleeping, dreaming this? If I am, then this is a nightmare, since I usually dream nice dreams of pretty green fields, and grazing, and… hmmm. I’ve never been in green fields. “Hey Ms. Mouse, have you ever been in green fields?”

The little mouse thought for a moment. Why no, she couldn’t think of being in green fields not even once.  “No Fluff. I haven’t. I mean, I am stuffed, you know. Like you and him.”

“hee hee.” Tonk laughed. “You sure are stuffed. Someone is gonna mistake you for a turkey and put you in the oven and….”

“Hey you mean old buffalo. You watch your mouth,” Fluffy yelled out at him. Where is that buffalo anyway? She couldn’t see where he’d been sent to guard.

A loud thud broke into the argument. Clomping of shoes, someone coming up the stairs.

“Hey, shhhhh. Someone’s coming.” Fluffy said.

Each of them became inanimate, as the two humans who owned them entered the kitchen of their new house, putting the groceries they’d bought on the counters.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. calensariel
    May 18, 2015 @ 18:35:26

    Adorable story. I’ve never seen any of the Toy Story movies, but The Velveteen Rabbit is one of my favorite books. Cute! Different for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 18, 2015 @ 18:46:12

      Thank you! I haven’t seen any of the Toy Story movies either. This I actually antics that take place in my kitchen when Q and I are cooking, and Fluffy, Ms. Mouse, and Tonk are getting knocked around. We do our ventriloquism acts with these guys, and Cappy and Tess and Claire (all our stuff animals talk) LOL

      But I couldn’t come up with a story for today, and this was what came to mind. I use what I can get my mind to grasp onto. 😀

      Like

      Reply

  2. HumaAq
    May 18, 2015 @ 19:04:33

    Totally enjoyed your story:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Breath of Freshness
    May 18, 2015 @ 19:43:47

    as above the ending was toy storish, I thought they were going to swing into action. It’s funny,

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      May 18, 2015 @ 21:20:39

      They might have if I’d had to the time. It’s part of a Story A Day challenge, so I’m trying to keep up with it, and today was much more busy for a Monday than usual, so I had to make this a much more brief story.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    May 19, 2015 @ 08:04:29

    Hahahaha! Great twist at the end. Nice story. I love that you and Mr. Q see inanimate objects alive and talk for them. I do the same with mine. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. jabrush1213
    May 19, 2015 @ 16:54:06

    A very imaginative and enjoyable story to read about three completely different animals talking to each other. Great twist ending by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Faraday's Candle
    May 20, 2015 @ 16:17:35

    We are convinced that shenanigans breaks out when we leave the house. Hopefully they do have fun….lol and it’s nothing but cuteness.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. Sonya
    May 21, 2015 @ 18:14:27

    Heh, this made me chuckle. Great idea 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

