Mundane Monday #40

IMG_0263I’m happy to be back on track with my challenges, and Pho Trablogger continues to urge us to explore and find the beauty in the mundane.

Today’s offering is something which sits just beyond my computer screen, giving the sense of rain – if you’re in my head. When I lived in Texas, we had very intense storms, and in some the rain was quite a bit like a waterfall.

This is not a new item. I always saw it as a child in my grandmother’s house. Decades later, it’s mine, and still graces the same lamp.

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Faraday's Candle
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 17:43:17

    The smallest of things can bring back the best of memories!!
    Great photo!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 05, 2016 @ 23:59:50

      That is SO true! And I’m in a house where there is generations of ‘hand-me-downs’ that are still so beautiful. The bottom part of the lamp is marble! I just have not seen anything like it in this modern world.

      Thank you!

      Like

      Reply

  2. calensariel
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 18:40:22

    Very classic shade. Linen?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 06, 2016 @ 00:03:32

      How odd, but I’m uncertain. Without the light turned on, the lines are white. It could be linen, though I used to seeing it more as table cloths and such. It’s a very old lamp, with a marble base stand.

      I’ll try to take a shot during the day with the light off, and you’ll see how different it appears.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. JoHanna Massey
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 23:41:56

    Great choice. Indeed it does resemble rain.

    Having been in a slow unpacking from the 2015 move mode for months now, I really am embracing the comfort and sense of security that is derived from the familiar and ‘mundane’ objects in our lives. Whether it is books, rocks, shells, a set of pyrex bowls from a yard sale, my Grandmother’s sock darner, or a years old well used iron frying pan…they are ordinary objects that having been packed away and absent for a stretch of time…now reappearing and recognized, appreciated, and enjoyed anew.

    Like

    Reply

  4. trablogger
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 06:07:56

    Lovely color, pattern and details. And welcome back/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Rambling Rose
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 20:29:53

    Have you ever seen the rain by CCR … sorry this version is by FMW 🙂 Great subject for the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Mundane Monday Challenge #41 | PhoTrablogger
  7. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 18:35:33

    The diagonal lines are striking! I think of the lamp shade as sort of being a “stand in” for a “head.” Here’s to how unbelievably (at times) awesome the mundane can be!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Jan 14, 2016 @ 18:44:14

      Thank you, Ka, for your thoughts on the photo! That is such an interesting thought, and while I’m not certain I am seeing it in the same way, those lines give me a sense of movement, but I can see flowing hair, something to which I have a great affinity! Thus, the head does make a lot of sense.

      Your words about how ‘awesome the mundane can be,’ are exactly why this challenge has capture my interest!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a comment