Pioneer Days

Tuesday Treasured Tidbits  brought to us by EMGNDesigns is here!

My treasured tidbit comes from a Badfish.

So much about blogging is what goes on in between the posts. Badfish Out Of Water and I had this interesting conversation about woodburning stoves, the kind that you cook on. Somewhere along that line his own story reminded me that I’d not only known two people who had one, (in this day and age) but I’d had one when I was out in Colorado, and spent time in a cabin up in Poudre Canyon, outside of Fort Collins. How could I have forgotten? A lot of great things came from my sojourns out there. This is one:

It was in the middle of 1975 (or ’76) that I headed back out to Colorado; a place I’d been meaning to go after spending time there between 1970 and 1971. The last semester of college, I decided that I had to be out there again. I had one course to go before I graduated, and I figured I could do it out there – it was a do-over course anyway. I even wrote to a college out there to ask them if I could take this class at the university there. I got a yes, and told my advisor, who said I wasn’t allowed to do that, but does that kind of thing ever stop me? No. So I told him, I was going out there. I was prepared to drop out of college in my senior year, 4 credits short of graduating. He relented, and sent me on my way out to the ‘wild west.’

When I get out there (this is the real story), I had to find a place to stay until I could get everything settled. I rented a cabin up in the Canyon, which backed on the Cache La Poudre river.

Poudre-Canyon-near-Fort-Collins

I started my adventure, pioneer style, like I was out in The Big Country, wood burning stove for cooking, and everything. We didn’t even have running water (that was fun – NOT), but did manage to bring water into the cabin in pots and pans from the river that ‘ran through it’ or through the backyard.

It had been SO long since I remembered that, it was like finding a treasure! What memories.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EMGN Designs
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 21:23:34

    Oh my! Memories like these are the treasures in life, indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. badfish2
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 23:41:17

    What a marvelous memory. Glad we could help each other with those long-forgotten oldies but goody memories. For me…first intrigue with garlic.

    And hey, I was living in my cabin by 1976, back side of Ajax Mountain, the main ski mountain of Aspen. And we were living in that cabin when Ted Bundy escaped from the Pitkin County Jail, and he hiked up Ajax and down “our” side, pillaging other cabins nearby. Sure hadn’t thought about any of all that in a while. Thanks again, and thanks for the shout out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 11, 2015 @ 10:26:41

      I love the synchronicities. And the interesting aside of Ted Bundy. How weird is that!?! Mr. Quantum’s best boyhood friend told him about a time when his mother was working in a convenience store, and one day Bonnie and Clyde came in, to buy some stuff. Just regular customers… like they were regular folks.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • badfish2
        Mar 11, 2015 @ 22:33:15

        Bonnie and Clyde were just regular folks. It’s just that their version of “work” and “fun” didn’t quite line up with most other people’s, maybe. Ted Bundy was normal in a way, and he had a point: he couldn’t understand why killing all those people was wrong because there were just so many other people in the world.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  3. Safar Fiertze
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 02:47:31

    I had a similar experience yesterday. Someone not in my usual flickr followers started liking quite a few of my photos, so I visited his stream. The very first picture brought back a rush of memories of a Christmas spent in Prague. I love the stimulation of these more meaningful social media (blogging/flickr) compared to Facebook and Twitter.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 11, 2015 @ 10:29:49

      I am always surprised by those moments, but love them!
      I completely agree about the difference between blogging communities and the twitter and facebook. I’ve never been on facebook, though tried twitter for about five minutes and found it wasn’t for me.

      Like

      Reply

  4. somemaid
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 03:46:27

    Not having running water certainly makes you more conscious of the water you use. Every year I spend a week or so renovating a house that used to have no running water. We do our cooking on an open fire. I read your story and part of me wants to retreat to a cabin in the woods at some point. Part of me remembers just how heavy water is. Great post thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Fimnora Westcaw
      Mar 11, 2015 @ 10:34:49

      Your house renovations sound very interesting. It’s got to be a huge job!
      I remember one summer, speaking of cooking on open fires, when I’d gone and stayed in my folk’s camper for a week, by myself. I did all my cooking out in the fire pit. It was great, except for the fish I lost when they slipped through the grill into the fire. lol I agree about retreating to a cabin. Though I might opt for one with running water this time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • somemaid
        Mar 11, 2015 @ 14:25:01

        Its a massive job. we’re 9 years in and counting. Although in actual time spent in the house its more like 3-4 months. Running water makes everything better. I’ve lost too much food between the gaps in the grill on a fire pit. Its never a good thing.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

        • Fimnora Westcaw
          Mar 11, 2015 @ 21:29:39

          Wow, that’s dedication! But I’ll be it’ll be beautiful when you finish, and so very satisfying at a job well done!

          Yes, no fish on the grill for me in future. Maybe shishkabobs. 🙂

          Like

          Reply

Leave a Reply

